1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Yogi versus Karmachari

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Tamildownunder, Sep 16, 2007.

1. Tamildownunder

Tamildownunder Bronze IL'ite

When I studied Business Management course in Mumbai, we had a special lecture by the renowned management expert at that time, Prof. Rangnekar. What he told about working people is universal I find after coming to work in U.S.

According to Prof. Rangnekar, working people can be classified into two categories, Yogis and Karmacharis.

Yogis are people who take initiatives, can take their own decisions and may not be afraid to question the boss if he is wrong. At the same time, they are loyal and obedient also.

Karmacharis are people who can't take initiatives, can't take their own decisions and will do blindly what the boss wants them to do.

Now, at the time of recruitments and assessment interviews for promotions the committees test the candidate whether he can be a yogi. But, after selection for the job or promotion he is expected to become a Karmachari.

I am happy that I have been a yogi all along. But, I have suffered for being a yogi also. In BARC, our group leader used to call for a meeting to discuss about new projects. Invariably, I used to give my ideas which were not liked by the group leader as he was supposed to give ideas. Some of my Karmachari colleagues used to say to him,' Sir, we don't have ideas, but we will do whatever you ask us to do'. Time has shown that being a yogi may bring temporary problems, but in the long run it will help a person to go up in career.

Regards,

TDU

2. Vysan

Vysan Gold IL'ite

Dear TDU,

This is a very thought provoking one.... I agree with you that being a yogi, though in the short run you may have to face problems but in the long run it helps you a lot...