1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Working Women

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by prasannaprao, Mar 18, 2013.

1. prasannaprao

prasannaprao Silver IL'ite

[JUSTIFY][JUSTIFY] “Times are changing”, is the only thought that comes to my mind when I see my aunt coaxing her reluctant daughter-in-law to venture out and start working. I wonder whatever happened to the conventional older woman who wanted only a traditional, stay-at-home girl as a bride for her cosseted son.

My aunt’s family is well-to-do so her insistence of her daughter-in-law working has nothing to do financially. It’s just that she does not want her DIL to while away her time or be idle at home.

Which makes me think, have working women become a necessity in today’s expensive world or should the choice be left to the woman herself?

In my case, I have been working for the past 7 years or so and in those years, I had hardly taken long duration holidays with the exception of my wedding holidays. I have always been financially independent and the notion of asking for money from my husband or my mother almost feels alien to me.

Then when my daughter was born, I went on Maternity Leave for 3 months. It felt really strange to me, when I saw my husband leaving for work and I had to stay back at home. Initially (before my baby was born), I felt bored as I was not accustomed to staying back at home.

After my daughter was born, I did not have much time for myself and was very busy, so I did not miss the absence of my professional life. Then the 3 months were up, but since I was not ready to leave my baby and go back to work I took additional months of leave (which went as Loss of Pay).