1. Want to be a Positive Parent? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Working mothers - Do you feel guilty for not giving quality time to kids?

Discussion in 'Schoolgoers & Teens' started by Emarald, Oct 17, 2014.

1. Emarald

Emarald Silver IL'ite

I am working mother of 2 school going kids. I have been working for several years. First to save money then to get green card then for house, there was something or other. Now I want to take break since my older is already teenage. But fear of unknown stops me from taking break. Anyone in same boat?

2. DKI

DKI Platinum IL'ite

I'll answer to your post title first - YES! I feel very guilty that I can't spend enough time with him even though I work from home 2 days a week and the other days I am home about 30 minutes after he gets home. My husband also works from home 2 separate days, so he is covered for 4 days.

But that sudden pang of missing him so much when I am at work never ever goes away. Always comes when I least expect it. These days I have a solution for that. I simply send him a text message that I miss him a lot and love him a lot. He will see the message when he switches on his phone when school gets out.

I sometimes tell myself that I am just preparing in advance for him leaving us and going off to college.

3. gauridinesh

gauridinesh Platinum IL'ite

This is an article I wrote that got published on rediff. The question was is Mrs.Indra nooi (CEO of pepsico) right in telling that women cannot have it all.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Everday I have to rip my heart out and hand it over to someone.
    I have to watch it cry and wail with arms opened towards me.
    I have to fight back tears , smile and wave.
    And turn around and walk.

Yes , Indra Nooyi is right. women cannot have it all.