Working After Kids...

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by anika987, Jul 28, 2018.

1. anika987

anika987 IL Hall of Fame

My husband job is very stressful ,started a new job and he starts early and returns late.Hence,all the household stuff is on me.

I worked as an admin before kids and at that time salary,time was very flexible.
    Now with a child and certain responsibilties..things are not that flexible.

Honest reasons?

1) With husband working in a stressful job,I feel why should I go for a 9 to 5 job for a meagre salary and giving up on whatever little hobbies and time spent with kid.It is going to make life more stressful.More salary means at atleast some emotional satisfaction and some extra help with food and baby sitter.with nothing,why stressful myself and family?

2)I am seriously not that career oriented and at times feel pressured to work coz of the relatives and some friends.

3)I tried part time jobs but not getting any as of now.
    The travel time cannot be too long,should make sense and also as I need to drop and pick up kid from KG.

4) Right now I am paying for KG and I cannot afford to pay whatever little extra I earn for after care.

sometime it is so frustrating when people ask "what do you do at home all day?"..I can give the entire schedule but that won't be enough for them.

Sometimes I used to feel like I just need to prove to people going for a job which I used to before but still there were lot of comments like "such less salary".."you should go for a better job"..or"why not fulltime"..
    recently my own aunt whose DIL is working full time is all in praise of her. However,she keeps putting me down in front of other relatives for fun but that hurts me.

I keep updating myself with some courses,hobbies and improvizing myself and home.However..I feel "what if i never go for a job and what will happen to me after kids leave home..some insecurities"

sindmani and messedup like this.

2. sumalynux

sumalynux IL Hall of Fame