1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

What's Cheapest Way to Call India?

Discussion in 'General Discussions - USA & Canada' started by Chaihoney, Dec 9, 2010.

1. Chaihoney

Chaihoney New IL'ite

Hi everybody,

I am new to IndusLadies and just registered from New Jersey in USA. Great to meet all of you. I am wondering, as I am thinking of purchasing calling card, what is cheapest way to call India?

Thanks!

2. glascobaby

glascobaby Silver IL'ite

3. tashidelek2002

tashidelek2002 IL Hall of Fame

I have been using Amantel for many years and prefer them due to call quality, no wait, no hidden charges, no waiting, doesn't expire quickly and you can use from any phone. They run a new sign up promotion of 1500 mins for $10:

Amantel.com:: CALL India Get 1500 minutes in $10

4. DNM

DNM Silver IL'ite

Vonage - Flat monthly fee of about $25 and unlimited calling to India, Europe and nationally. You will need an internet connection as well. You can carry the number with you wherever you move, even if you move back to India!

5. tashidelek2002

DNM:
    MagicJack is cheaper than Vonage....$20 a year for unlimited USA and Canada. Vonage is good though for free calls to Europe etc.

6. peartree

peartree Platinum IL'ite

I use this service called dial91 and have had no problems so far with regards to call quality etc. They charge 0.0417 cents per minute, which I think is a pretty good deal!!

7. DNM

DNM Silver IL'ite

Tashi, Yeah. I heard about the magic jack rates as well but since Vonage offers flat rate to call India and so many other countries, it is better for us. We have bought magic jack for inlaws and my parents in India for them to call for free. It is good.

PT - that is cheap for sure. Still vonage or magic jack allows us to call india directly without putting in any pin first. We only use Vonage for calling everywhere. My landline number is only for inbound calls (from peeps where we have not given out the vonage number).