What goes around, comes around....

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by raginiprakash, Apr 17, 2007.

1. raginiprakash

raginiprakash Senior IL'ite

Hi!

'As you sow, so shall you reap'..........say our scriptures. A good deed or an act of kindness always comes back multi-fold, as aptly described in the following story.
    Read on..........

What Goes Around Comes Around

He almost didn't see the old lady, stranded on the
    side of the road, but even in the dim light of day, he
    could see she needed help.

So he pulled up in front of her Mercedes and got out.
    His Pontiac was still sputtering when he approached
    her.

Even with the smile on his face, she was worried. No
    one had stopped to help for the last hour or so .. was
    he going to hurt her? He didn't look safe; he looked
    poor and hungry.

He could see that she was frightened, standing out
    there in the cold. He knew how she felt. It was that chill which only fear can put in you.

He said, "I'm here to help you, ma'am. Why don't you
    wait in the car where it's warm? By the way, my name
    is Bryan Anderson."

Well, all she had was a flat tire, but for an old
    lady, that was bad enough. Bryan crawled under the car
    looking for a place to put the jack, skinning his
    knuckles a time or two. Soon he was able to change the
    tire. But he had to get dirty and his hands hurt.

As he was tightening up the lug nuts, she rolled down
    the window and began to talk to him. She told him that
    she was from St. Louis and was only just passing
    through. She couldn't thank him enough for coming to
    her aid.

Bryan just smiled as he closed her trunk. The lady
    asked how much she owed him. Any amount would have
    been all right with her. She already imagined all the
    awful things that could have happened had he not
    stopped. Bryan never thought twice about being paid.

This was not a job to him. This was helping someone in
    need, and God knows there were plenty who had given
    him a hand in the past. He had lived his whole life that way, and it never occurred to him to act any other way.

He told her that if she really wanted to pay him back,
    the next time she saw someone who needed help, she
    could give that person the assistance they needed, and
    Bryan added, "And think of me."

He waited until she started her car and drove off. It
    had been a cold and depressing day, but he felt good
    as he headed for home, disappearing into the twilight.

A few miles down the road the lady saw a small cafe.
    She went in to grab a bite to eat, and take the chill
    off before she made the last leg of her trip home. It
    was a dingy looking restaurant. Outside were two old
    gas pumps. The whole scene was unfamiliar to her. The
    waitress came over and brought a clean towel to wipe
    her wet hair. she had a sweet smile, one that even being on her feet for the whole day couldn't erase.

The lady noticed the waitress was nearly eight months
    pregnant, but she never let the strain and aches change her attitude. The old lady wondered how someone who had so little could be so giving to a stranger.
    Then she remembered Bryan .

After the lady finished her meal, she paid with a
    hundred dollar bill. The waitress quickly went to get
    change for her hundred dollar bill, but the old lady
    had slipped right out the door. She was gone by the
    time the waitress came back. The waitress wondered
    where the lady could be.

Then she noticed something written on the napkin.
    There were tears in her eyes when she read what the
    lady wrote: "You don't owe me anything. I have been
    there too. Somebody once helped me out, the way I'm
    helping you. If you really want to pay me back, here
    is what you do: Do not let this chain of love end with you."

Under the napkin were four more $100 bills.

Well, there were tables to clear, sugar bowls to fill,
    and people to serve, but the waitress made it through
    another day. That night when she got home from work
    and climbed into bed, she was thinking about the money
    and what the lady had written. How could the lady have
    known how much she and her husband needed it? With the
    baby due next month, it was going to be hard..

She knew how worried her husband was, and as he lay
    sleeping next to her, she gave him a soft kiss and
    whispered soft and low, "Everything's gonna be all
    right. I love you, Bryan Anderson."

There is an old saying "What goes around comes
    around."

2. Abha

Abha Bronze IL'ite

Wow !!!

amazing story... this is so true... good or bad whatever you get in life is all your karma... without worrying about the results or the fruit one should whole heartedly do the best he can, cos god is watching.

great post ragini
    Thanks for sharing it here
    ~Abha

3. sunkan

dear ragini,
    a classic piece u have shared here....regards sunkan

4. mohana

mohana Silver IL'ite

Great!!!! very touching story.

5. abhatv

abhatv Senior IL'ite

Hai Ragini,

The post is very thought provoking. As they say in the scouts' and guides' group, you should do a single good turn however small it might be , atleast one which brings a smile to the other person's face. Then you sure feel great.

Abha.

6. BhargaviChakravarthy

BhargaviChakravarthy Bronze IL'ite

Excellent!Reality speaks.As was rightly said in Bhagwatgita,I am saying n tamil
    "kadamayai sei palanai edhirparkkathey"
    "Do the duty.Don't expect the results"(English)

Last edited: Apr 20, 2007
  7. sathya

sathya Gold IL'ite

hello

thats great yaar...!
    if only people
    were all like that..
    to give without expecting
    anything in return...
    god made mothers
    because he cannot be everywhere
    he also makes people
    like u have written...
    may his tribe multiply..!

sathya

8. Malathijagan

Malathijagan Silver IL'ite

This is not just a story.I have experienced this in life each and every time when I have helped others.

9. cheer

cheer Silver IL'ite

Dear Ragini,

Another nice piece, i read this long time back somewhere, thanx for reminding me again.

I do believe "What Goes Around Comes Around":wave

10. radhavenkatesh

radhavenkatesh Silver IL'ite

:) v true
    after reading ur thread frm today i wont fight with my husband
    u knw he always gives so much to ppl who he dosent knw also in the form of charity this and tht and i always wonder y he does tht and pick up arguement also u dont knw him y give him so much wot for and he just replies wotever gud u do wont go unnoticed up there there is one person who marks u always those words calm me in fear maybe there is someone who really takes note of all gud we do
    but after reading ur thread i feel maybe there is something like this and hopefully :)) if i dont sound stingy maybe wotevere has gone out frm him wud return soon