1. Interested in Natural Skin Care Solutions?: Check Here
    Dismiss Notice

Tonsuring/ head shave

Discussion in 'Hair Care & Hair Styles' started by studentx, Oct 20, 2011.

1. studentx

studentx New IL'ite

Hi, I am a fashion journalism student and am currently working on an article all to do with hair extensions and who they come from. I was just wondering about some of the aspects of Indian culture and tonsuring. I would be extremely grateful if anybody that has experienced getting their head shaved or knows friends and family that have if you could answer a few questions on it for me...
    Firstly where about in the world do you currently live and where did the head shave take place?
    Did you get your hair shaved off to do with the religious ceremony tonsuring and why?
    What were the reasons behind you wanting to shave off your hair?
    Do you believe since shaving you hair off it has helped you in any way? Please explain.
    What do your friends and family think about you shaving your hair off?
    What do you and your culture believe having long hair represents?
    Did you get paid any money for the hair you sacrificed? If yes, how much did you get paid? Was that part of the reason you wanted to have it done? If no, would you want to get paid for it? What do you think about the temples selling on yours and other peoples hair for a profit? And what does it go towards?
    What do you think of other people wearing these real human hair extensions in the UK and USA?
    Who does the hair get sacrificed from usually: Adults? Children, how young?
    A common myth about hair extensions are that they come from dead people is this true or have you ever heard it yourself?
    Thankyou for taking the time out to answer these few questions. I would greatly appreciate a reply it will help me out alot.

2. Lalithaaa

Lalithaaa Senior IL'ite