Things to take to Valaikappu & Seemantham in the US

Discussion in 'General Discussions - USA & Canada' started by latha_sasi, Sep 27, 2008.

1. cool09

cool09 Senior IL'ite

Things to get from india to US for delivery and seemandham

Hi friends

My mom would be coming here to the US for my delivery..since this is my first baby i have no idea about the things necessary for delivery,new born as well as for the seemandham and baby shower function..can someone please guide me..

2. Ranchu

Ranchu Local Champion Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Re: Things to get from india to US for delivery and seemandham

Cool09 ,

there are a huge collection of lists in Pregnancy forum. please check there.

3. shree

shree Silver IL'ite

4. jnravi

jnravi New IL'ite

What is vasambu valayal? How is this item used in the seemantham/valaikappu function?

Thanks n regards

Ravi

5. Ranchu

vasambu valayal is for the baby. You put it for the baby on the 11th day naming ceremony (punyaajalam).

If you dont have this tradition in your family you can skip it

6. Ramvenks

Ramvenks New IL'ite

Can anybody say on which hand odd number of bangles and on which even no.
    Thank you,
    ramaa

7. Indira1651

Indira1651 New IL'ite

Dear Ilites my sons seemantham is on oct.21st at Bethesda, MD. I do not know where to get allam mottu and mullam pandri stick . can you guide me please. how to ask in this country in stores. thanks. indira

8. Ranchu

Indra Aunty,

Sorry we do not get "alam mottu" here. Its from aala maram (banyan tree) and that is only found in tropical regions , not here.
    You can use some other flower bud for this. We have to compromise on this.
    Neem flower or Tulsi leaf are good options.

Mullam Pandri stick is usually available with Priests in the temple. You can ask your priest or the nearby temple.

9. love19

love19 New IL'ite

I am looking for the list of food items(pathiyam) that needs to be taken after delivery by the mom. I have gone through the blogs reply to get a list of other items which are very useful. Thanks for sharing.

10. joi

joi New IL'ite

Can anyone suggest where to buy Dharbai grass, Samithu and neem leaf to make kaapu for Seemantham, Valaikappu function in San Jose? Priest has asked us to arrange the above.