The Endless Wait

Discussion in 'Poetry' started by GeetaKashyap, Mar 3, 2019.

1. GeetaKashyap

GeetaKashyap IL Hall of Fame

@periamma ,

Saw your latest post and commented on it too.:grinning:

2. Afresh

Afresh Gold IL'ite

Mam,
    What an easy read and the pathos is so well transferred to the reader.
    I am not much of a poem reader but seeing your name on the post, i ventured to read it and i am proud of myself that could get it ..ha ha
    Just kiddin.. all credit to the poetess;

Thanks to all the IL stars and super stars :clap2: , i get to read and connect!

GeetaKashyap likes this.
  3. GeetaKashyap

Dear @Afresh,
    A refreshing feedback served afresh!:thumbup:
    Thanks for liking my work.

I totally agree with you that IL is indeed a great place to connect and learn from one another.:beer-toast1:

Afresh likes this.
  4. Afresh

Afresh Gold IL'ite

Wow.. love the lines :) and you!
    Hoping to get a fresh take on life here, and already beginning to; feels great to be acknowledged :hearteyes:

GeetaKashyap likes this.
  5. GeetaKashyap

Best wishes in all your endeavors.

Afresh likes this.
  6. jskls

jskls IL Hall of Fame

Geeta, What a lovely painful poem! Your poem brought me here today.
    What a hope to hold on to!

What a promise (fake)! How innocent she must have been to trust someone like this!

That mythical moment would happen in her dreams ... That's where she can live in peace! Waiting is so painful and that too waiting infinitely for the unknown is the hardest. Beautifully written. Oh Geeta ji, you just got me singing all those hindi songs now ...

Reminded of this song ...
    kisi nazar ko tera, intezaar aaj bhi hai
    kahaan ho tum ke ye dil bekraar aaj bhi hain

GeetaKashyap likes this.
  7. GeetaKashyap

Dear Lakshmi @jskls,

What a lovely fb; you made my day!

The endless wait can be traumatic.

Song-Kisi nazar ko tera intezaar aaj bhi hai (Aitbaar) (1985) Singers-Bhupinder Singh, Asha Bhonsle, Lyrics-Hasan Kamaal, MD-Bappi Lahiri
    Translation
    There is someone who is waiting for you even today
    Where are you, this heart is restless for you even today
    We had met in those places and those environments
    Memorial of that still exists somewhere in those places
    I have no idea why I felt after watching that person
    that my heart still belongs to that person
    That love for which I abandoned everything
    still survives,lying injured somewhere
    It is difficult to believe, but it still seems as if
    happiness is still waiting to come back to my life
    Do not ask how many wounds one has received in love
    Thinking about that person fills the heart with pain even now.
    The song you quoted reminded me of yet another song.

Lyrics: Gulzar
    Music: Khayyam
    Singer: Kishore Kumar & Lata Mangeshkar
    Movie: Thodi si Bewafai 1980

Translation
    At thousand crossroads, I turned back to see; couldn't hear a faintest plea.
    With great loyalty you treated, my little negligible disloyalty.
    From the junction you turned away, that junction is still awaiting.
    On my feet I know not how many entangles of swirls, yet I am standing.
    I wish that on any given day, my condition you'd suffer.
    The night that I spent dying, same night you too would suffer.
    You were determined that I'd call, I wished you'd be calling.
    My name still exists on your lips, but the voice is still struggling.
    © Translation in English by Deepankar Choudhury

Last edited: Mar 7, 2019
  8. signature

signature Bronze IL'ite

Mam,

This is an extremely well written poem that made my eyes wet. The poet used this plain Jane and went away giving a false promise. This happens a lot in our society.

This poetry is beautiful and it creates a sense of lingering sadness.:pensive:

GeetaKashyap likes this.
  9. GeetaKashyap

Thanks, dear @signature , for your appreciation. I tried to tell a story through this poetry. I am glad it touched your emotions.

10. Novalis

Novalis Gold IL'ite

None of my regional tongues are cultured, mostly prefer street and slang. Dad insisted civil language at home. Otherwise, I have been too abrasive.

So, supplemented learning from me, indeed, comes with consequences. I am a bit of a chameleon, able to shuffle diction to the circumstantial onlookers. If my Dad overheard my visceral slang, he might catatonic freeze. I would never be able to conjure about that N-P delicacy in any of the regional languages like you have done.

Last edited: Mar 13, 2019
    GeetaKashyap likes this.