The Beauty And The Brain - Episode 4 - Serial With Weekly Episodes

Discussion in 'The Beauty And The Brain - Serial Story' started by varalotti, Apr 1, 2006.

1. Kamla

My thoughts!

This time around, I think I was one of the first ones to read your latest episode. I hesitated to post my comment as the first one and waited till this morning!

Well Sridhar/Varalotti, I have mixed feelings about this time's episode. I am always a little surprised as to how much my thought lines run alongside those of Sharada, our writer, not your Sharada! She said almost everything that I wanted to say, only she put it forth once again with her straight forward 'punch'!! But perhaps, such criticism gives a person to see where he/she is going wrong and enable to better themselves, which is a help in the long run. But I don't know if any mother likes to hear bad about her child and your hardworked writing is your baby, after all.

I am okay with Sharada crying so often sympathising with Shweta. Afterall, she feels like her mother and I would do the same for my children too, a professional or not. Who says a go-getter professional becomes devoid of emotions? It is the same point I wanted to make last time too regarding your portrayal of Dr Reddy! ( another matter that my hub is a doc!!!..you guessed right).

But Sir, Varalotti, what is this importance the female form seems to get in your stories?!!! Even if you wanted to stress 'that special attribute' of Neha, I felt too many lines were spent on it, which somehow did not befit the calibre of your writing. Besides, it does not convince me, a woman of today, that a female's breasts alone can have so much power so as to tilt the world of Shweta, who is a beauty par excellence herself, plus successful and loving to boot!

Apart from that, the writing style is very impressive and makes a good reading. I have read a couple of Shoba De's novels years ago and this could be another of her books! I don't know if that is a good or bad thing as far as you are concerned!!

Maybe my criticism is colored with my own pre-conceived notions of what to expect from a ' Varalotti of Madurai's' books. Maybe I am not reading with an open mind. If so, I beg your pardon. But I thought I will give you my 'honest' opinion and now wait for brickbats from your fans:)

Also, I am waiting for the big twist and with suspense to know who this important character that will enter the scene now on Sharada's insistence. Once again, you have left me with anticipation.

Last edited: Apr 1, 2006
  2. meenaprakash

meenaprakash Silver IL'ite

let start the plotting, pls..........

Hello Sridhar,

hope the flowing of tears will stop and the ladies will start their ground work now. yesterday was watching a movie on Marilyn Monroe's life and the Initial paras on neha kapoor's talents (?) reminded me of Marilyn Monroe.

so, who is the next character we are gonna meet up?? is he our saviour??? or is that another supporting role???

your paras on the other side of the industry is something we have heard over & over again and its embarassing, though its the fact and way of life there.
    but how on earth did Shwetha agree to his sleeping with neha???? how can she take it so easy???

Love is really funny. When you're concentrating on other things, it comes along and takes center stage when you least expect it; and you just get addicted to it that so much that you are ready to loose anything & everything only to wake up late and find its gone & also realise it wasn't love at all. if shwetha had moved ahead, maybe her love would've followed her.

eager to move further & fast.............

3. varalotti

I Could Not Resist My Temptation To Give an Early Reply!

Most Gracious Ilites,

This time your responses were mixed and I could not resist my temptation to break all the self-imposed rules and give an immediate reply. I simply can’t wait till Thursday.

After carefully reading your wonderful responses the accountant in me sums up your views as follows:

<!--[if !supportLists]-->a)[font=&quot] The episode is vulgar.[/font]<!--[endif]-->

<!--[if !supportLists]-->b)[font=&quot] Will any woman, eventhough she is in Bollywood, accept her husband having sexual relationship with any other woman?[/font]<!--[endif]-->

<!--[if !supportLists]-->c)[font=&quot] Sharada, as a lawyer, should be made of sterner stuff. Kamla, in her rejoinder has answered for this criticism. But Kamla is still cross with me for I came down hard on the doctors during the last episode.[/font]<!--[endif]-->

<!--[if !supportLists]-->d)[font=&quot] Will Swetha, being in such a money-spinning profession, be naïve enough to sign blindly and land herself in trouble?[/font]<!--[endif]-->

<!--[if !supportLists]-->e)[font=&quot] What kind of stories should we expect from Varalotti?[/font]<!--[endif]-->

And the lawyer in me (I am a lawyer myself, holding a Bachelors in General Law) answers the above charges in the following manner.

Vulgarity.

Please remember, Gracious Ladies, the story is not happening in Gandhiji’s Wardha Ashram or Mother Theresa’s Convent. It’s happening right in the centre of Bollywood. And please don’t tell me that you didn’t believe all these things could happen there. My best defence lawyer is there with you, none other than my good friend, the Great ILite, Sharada (not my lawyer-character, Sharada) The one real-life incident she has cited as an example in her response is about a 100 times vulgar than all the incidents I described in this episode. If an actor can ask a ‘top-heavy’ woman to open up and unbutton… My God! What words! I don’t have the mind even to continue with this sentence.

And if any of you had read Shoba De’s Starry Nights, you will know that my words are about a thousandth of what she had written, in terms of both intensity and vulgarity.

What I have stated is just a tip of the real iceberg, which comfortably lies submerged under the waters of feigned ignorance. The filmi-magazines most of you read and many of you are able to quote from memory carry words (and pictures to support it too) which are incomparably vulgar than the last episode.

Please don’t think that I enjoyed writing these words. Please remember that it is the first duty of a story teller to hand-hold you through the path of truth. And many a time the way is not clean; it is dirty, has vulgar pictures and grafitti. But we can’t avoid walking that way if we want to reach the destination.

And why should I spend so many lines on that attribute of the female form? A wonderful, pointed question. In Bollywood there are actors who spent whole lives for that attribute, for that form. One of my best friend tells me that the famous epic hero Raj Kapoor had this female breast obsession. The way he depicted the otherwise decent Padmini (yes Nattia Peroli) in Mera Nam Joker, the way he depicted Mandakini, Zeenat Aman… are all solid proofs of a life spent in that magnificent obsession. (Magnificent Obsession…. One contestant had sent this as a title for my title-less story) When they have spent lives, why not I spend a few lines to bring my writings a little closer to reality?

I know that none of you is a prude. You always have a good laugh at all kinds of jokes, a better laugh at Mean Men jokes, all of which have a vulgarity content (vulgarity is still a question of perspective) at least as intense as the last episode. When you can laugh at obscenity why don’t you just grin and bear this episode while we march ahead in the story?

Will Any Woman Accept Her Husband’s Sexual Escapades?

Bollywood, <st1:city><st1:place>Hollywood</st1:place></st1:city> and to some extent Kollywood have peculiar systems of morality, if they can be called so. Those people could not simply afford the luxury of the kind of morality we normally assume in our lives.

Their working lives are horrible. They are obliged to stand before glowing lights (it could be several thousands of watts) and work for 14, 15 hours a day. They are working in close proximity with the members of the opposite sex. All these lead to the kind of depravity which is rampant in the tinsel world.

Recently they shot a scene for a Tamil Film in an apartment complex in <st1:city><st1:place>Madurai</st1:place></st1:city>. It was a song sequence. A duet. Just for two lines of song they spent four hours and about a dozen takes. What will be the mentality of the actor/actress who had to hug/kiss each other so many times?

So I don’t find anything wrong in Swetha condoning her husband’s escapades.

I got to know of this from a very reliable source. The wife of a very successful Tamil Actor would go in search of the woman whom her husband wants for the night. She explained her action: ‘When I let him go there is a possibility of his name getting spoilt or his getting cheated. So I ask him about his preferences, phone up the girl and ask her to come home. That way he is safe.’

Her heart should have been bleeding when she said this.

Now to Sudha, who levelled this charge, I have another argument. Swetha is able to condone her husband as she also has to exceed her limits at times. She will have to accommodate her producer, director, her hero and even her financiers at times. In fact I had written this explicity first. But then I did not want to show Swetha in a bad light. So I cut those words later.

Last edited: Apr 3, 2006
  4. varalotti

I Could Not Resist My Temptation To Give an Early Reply!

At the same time we should not adopt a holier-than-thou attitude towards the actors and actresses.

Let me make a confession. I am a strictly moral person, because of my upbringing, the nature of my profession and the responsibilities I shoulder. But had I been given the same kind of opportunites which an actor or actress has, I would have been far worse than most of them. So let’s understand their world and then look at them with compassion.

Sharada, The Lawyer Should Be Made Of Sterner Stuff!

When this charge was levelled by our Great Sharada, Kamla donned the robes of my defence lawyer. I now quote my newest defence lawyer:

[font=&quot]“I am okay with Sharada crying so often sympathising with Shweta. Afterall, she feels like her mother and I would do the same for my children too, a professional or not. Who says a go-getter professional becomes devoid of emotions? It is the same point I wanted to make last time too regarding your portrayal of Dr Reddy! ( another matter that my hub is a doc!!!..you guessed right).”[/font]

Thanks Kamla for the emotional defence.

But, Kamla, while defending me, has levelled another charge. That I have defamed Doctors.

My answer is this, Kamla. I know your husband is a good doctor, a humane gentleman and a noble exception to the rule I propounded for the likes of Dr.Reddy. Remember Dr.Reddy is not merely a Doctor but also running a corporate hospital. In the world of ruthless competition he has to be like that.

You promise me, Kamla, that you won’t tell this to your Doctor husband. Thanks to my profession I have seen the other side of many Doctors. Believe me, Dr.Reddy, ruthless in his own capacity, will look like a saint by their side.

And when I talk about the medical world as a writer, I have the liberty to describe Doctors who conform to the rule and also to write about those who are exceptions. In this serial I have chosen to describe a person who epitomizes the rule of ruthlessnes.

Will Swetha Sign Blank Papers?

Chitra, we should remember that Swetha, is an orphan who is almost living with her lover whom she has planned to marry. And as she tells Sharada, “ I am not a lawyer like you. I am a simple girl in love.”

And if you love and at the same time hold back and be cautious, then that’s not love. I know many, many women who are naïve. I remember with tears, the wife of one of my clients, who sensing that her husband is in trouble, brought all her jewels (worth about Rs.10 lakhs) in a box and gave it to her husband’s creditors. What do you call this? Blind love, devotion…. The Thesaurus supplies many synonyms but two are enough.

One real life example is the great actress Savithri. She was hopelessly in love with Gemini Ganesan. She was fierecely faithful to him and did not even want to have properties on her own. But he was having fun with many women. Savithri lost everything in life because of her blind love, finally became addict to drinks and was in the clutches of the actor Chandrababu when she died.

What Should We Expect From Varalotti?

I am very happy and proud at the importance you have given to me. Kamla has raised this question and I am sure this will be in the minds of many who have read my other stories in IL.

I have a simple answer. Expect good stories from Varalotti. But don’t expect just ‘goody-goody’ stories from him.

You can expect ‘goody-goody’ stories from a writer of stories for children. And even the children these days, abhor the ‘goody-goody’ stories of yester years.

Shoba De’s Strange Obsession, Starry Nights and Surviving Men have quite a lot of explicit content.

On the other hand her Speed Post is the most decent, elegant work of non-fiction. I would like it to be made a prescribed text for every mother.

And if you read her autobiography Selective Memory, you can’t help crying when she describes the scene of her mother’s death.

Take Khushwant Singh. His novels Train to <st1:country-region><st1:place>Pakistan</st1:place></st1:country-region> and <st1:city><st1:place>Delhi</st1:place></st1:city> are classics. But his Company of Women is almost pornography. But if you love the author and understand his mission you will enjoy that with a smile at the corner of your lips.

Though I am no way near the Great Sikh, I beg of you to give a similar treatment to me.

You read ‘The Scar’ or ‘The Promise’ with tearful eyes and told me in a choked voice that the story is good.

You read ‘The Scandal’ and sent me a bouquet.

When it comes to reading the fourth episode of The Beauty And The Brain, do it with a mischievous smile at the corner of your lips. The story will move fast and you will look even more beautiful, if your husband sees you in that posture.

I really wanted to give a decent description of Bollywood. But my writer friends say that you cannot use ‘Bollywood’ and ‘decent’ in the same sentence.

Varalotti

5. Sharada

Sharada Senior IL'ite

The Great Sharada replies!

I feel like I've been knighted - or like Akbar the Great! Your response was almost as long as the episode and will trigger off another discussion. As a writer you don't have to validate what you have written or justify the actions and reactions of your characters. It could be a figment of your imagination or distilled and magnified from reality.
    On the other hand, we as readers can throw brickbats if it is vulgar, if the characters behave strangely or if we expect something better from a writer of your calibre. Most Indian writers (even the two supposedly famous ones!) in English I find pretentious and when there is passion play it is the pits - there is an absolute lack of style. Have you read "Spouses" by SD? It is a good book to present to young Marwari girls on the eve of their wedding!
    In the film line there is no sanctity of relationships or morality. Sleeping around is taken very casually. Money talks and rules. Swetha should have been more calculating regarding her finances. We cannot judge others based on their values - because each one has a different approach to life and is chasing a different dream.
    Varalotti, I'm sure you didn't mean to offend or cross the boundaries of decency - but this extent - the tip of the iceberg is enough. Many ILites will not respond to this episode as it must be making them uncomfortable.
    What you have written may be the truth - but don't parade it in its stark nakedness, clothe it with decorum.
    We are not in a courtroom discussing what is right or wrong - the question is whether the reader can relate to this. Granted, we laugh at mean men/dirty jokes - but when it comes to a story there has to be more substance. Everyone can write - we all start at the same level struggling with CAT, MAT, but many write only to pass exams. Those like you with talent should rise above the ordinary and write better than the best, or you will literally go bust! - kya joke maara!!
    This discussion should continue - hope more members express their views.
    Sharada

6. sudhavnarasimhan

sudhavnarasimhan Silver IL'ite

Dear Sridhar,

THE GREAT SHARADA HAS ANSWERED IT ALL! she has neatly covered all the aspects just like you have justifiesd yourself. But.....

We all came up with our high and mighty opinions, :shock: because YOU asked for it! :tongue

By the way, like you had said if Swetha was also portrayed in a different light, maybe yes , ...maybe we would not have commented so much...who cares after all it is their lifestyle. But since you have started the story and made us all feel sorry for Swetha, we are wondering how come after being exposed to a world like Bollywood, she is so naive and înnocent. It somehow did not feel right! Anyway i guess after all being women we are unable to accept certain things....and If Swetha could put up with Rakesh's affairs, then she should not worry abt Neha also now,...why was she complaining ? So it was only after all her wealth was swindled that she realises her mistake...so it was not love it was money again, right?
    anyway, this character is your making, so we will accept her for now as she is and see if she turns out to be better!

7. meenaprakash

meenaprakash Silver IL'ite

don't think its "X" rated.........

thought Sridhar's response was continuation of the 3rd episode - sooooo long a reply..

Sharada, I feel Sridhar has done a good job and has definitely taken steps not to make this episode stinky / vulgar; though the background of the story (film industry) is the worst place and can be described in worst of worst phrases.

I really appreciate his careful selection of words / phrases; especially when depicting the real life of actors /actresses. In fact, your phrase was shocking and erotic than the whole episode.

I personally feel we must accept reality - its the real life, dirty side of the people we are talking about and that can't be projected in a rosy way.

compared to the dirty posters on streets, playboy kinda magazines, pornographies, skimpily dressed girls on music channels/films, exposing hoardings, carelessly exposed- tight clothed teenage girls, ........ scattered all around us, Sridhar's phrases sound much better. Imagine the kind of work that would have gone into while making those vulgar music videos & movies & pictures......................

I'm sure we all can relate to it; if not, we can't relate to the present at all - we can only watch movies where intimacy or a love scene meant rubbing of two flowers or birds pecking at each other; sure we have crossed all that and can relate to latest movies - which invariably have unwanted close-ups, vulgar dance movements, with the saree pallu always sliding away............. and we survive thru it all.

see thru may not be (X-Ray)ted in present scenario....

Sridhar, I think the poor response could be b'cause of the holiday season & many might be travelling or having guests at home (lilke it happened to me - I couldn't reply to this thread immeidately & all my 3 attempts to write to Chitvish failed, used to write a few sentence and leave it hangin' as I just couldn't sit peacefully in front of the comp)

8. Sharada

Sharada Senior IL'ite

my lines

Meena, the lines were not written by me - I had read it in Stardust years ago. It was meant to drive home the fact that Bollywood is Dirtywood!
    As a writer Varalotti can write whatever he wants - but it's the prerogative of the reader to criticise! Justified or not it is my perspective. Varalotti is constantly trying to evolve as a writer and to take our comments into consideration before finalising the subsequent episodes - so I feel we must heap the praise and the mud (when necessary)!
    Sharada

9. Ushakrishnan64

Ushakrishnan64 Silver IL'ite

Who Is The Saviour?

Dear Varalotti,
    I am thoroughly amazed by your picutresque narrative talent! Though I cannot believe that a career woman like Swetha signs papers without reading them and justifies that she is in love!! I am looking forward to the introduction of our Super Hero and the launch of the mega plan to destroy the villain Rakesh!

USHA KRISHNAN

10. Kamla

I am bowled over!

Dear Sridhar/Varalotti,

<!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--><!--[endif]--> It is putting it mildly when I say I was awestruck reading your response to the comments of us ILites in regard to your latest, on going story. That a writer of your status would go this far to appease his readers is in itself a revelation to me. We ILites are fortunate that IL has provided us this platform for such an interesting discussion and exchange of thoughts.

<!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--><!--[endif]--> I feel daunted to interact on this forum where so many of you are well read and informed. I do so hoping that I will educate myself in discerning reading and appreciation of literature.

<!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--><!--[endif]--> Sridhar, ofcourse you have the liberty and freedom to use your pen as you wish. You already know that you have caught us all in your ink (print?!) web as our vehement comments go to prove. It’s upto you to be the ‘Great Sikh’ of ‘Delhi’ or the ‘Khushwant’ of ‘Company of Women’. I think I was caught ‘off-guard’ by the opening episodes of your story and your style of writing. I am better psyched now and am somewhat better prepared.

<!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--><!--[endif]--> I agree with you. Most of us are not prudes and cannot be in today’s scene. Starting from A.J.Cronin to Harold Robbins, everyone has dealt with sexuality and sensuality. Atleast speaking for myself, I was prepared as to what was coming my way when I took up one of those authors’ books for reading. I am yet new to your story telling scene and shall now be ready to be enthralled or not.

<!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--><!--[endif]--> Besides, this is a very novel venue that you have provided us readers by inviting us to express our ‘frank’ views as the story progresses and I think all of us obliged you faithfully! It is your prerogative as a writer if you want Neha’s ‘assets’ to wield that much power! We can agree to disagree!

<!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--><!--[endif]--> As to my reaction to your characterization of Dr. Reddy, believe you me, it has nothing to do with my hubby! Only, I am against generalizing anything because there are always exceptions to the rule, be it in show business, medical or legal fraternity! Or in Accountancy ;-) But I do not mind our little tete-a-tete about it as it provided us with some fun I guess! And I appreciate the stand you have taken on portraying your doc so.

<!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--><!--[endif]--> Finally, ‘The Beauty and the Brain’ is your baby. You nurture it the way you want and thanks for letting us be part of that delightful process.

Love and Regards,
    Kamla