Started taking software testing courses with a view to get a job in US..please guide

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by mahdee, Jul 4, 2009.

1. mahdee

mahdee New IL'ite

Hi All,
    I just started taking software testing courses in India, as courses in US are too costly. Will be leaving to US on H4 this oct'..I have 2 yrs of experience in operations in IBM bangalore. Resigned my job recently, as i wanted to spend time with my parents who stay in hyd till i go to US. So, meanwhile decided to take these courses here, so that it would help me get a job in US.

So can anybody tell me..
    1) When can I start applying for the H1?
    2) How do I start my job search?

I m trying my best not to be a housewife or spend my time in US just as a H4 holder. Want to keep myself busy and work.
    I want to give a try atleast....pls suggest

Last edited: Jul 4, 2009

2. Shilpa23

Shilpa23 Senior IL'ite

Re: Started taking software testing courses with a view to get a job in US..please gu

hi,
    You can apply for H1B after coming to USA because when u apply for H1B in India u need to go India for stamping.So my suggestion is , it is better to apply in USA.One thing bring all the necessary documents along with u in a file and folder so that while apply it will be easy for u to search for those documents.After applying for H1B u will have time then u can just brush up ur topics once and get ready for interviews.I think in my opinion u can apply after this december because market is dry now .First u need to prepare ur resume showing 7 to 8 yrs of experience and one covering letter.Then u need to apply for jobs in website called "dice.com".Open once dice.com site u will find information regarding jobs in USA.Go to "advanced search".Type ur job type in "keyword" text area.Select ur country/state from which u want to search job in the "state/country" checklist.I hope this information will help u .

Ok ALL THE BEST FOR U AND GRAND WELCOME TO USA:welcome.

THANKS ,