Sound Of Silence

Discussion in 'Poetry' started by jskls, Mar 2, 2018.

1. jskls

jskls IL Hall of Fame

As I opened my eyes
    To the ringing of my Alarm
    A tick-tock in the clock
    A drip-drop in the shower
    Starts my day at the right hour

As I stepped out
    Listening to the
    Tiny bird tweets
    Gentle wind whispers
    Rustling of the leaves
    Tinkling of the wind chimes
    Morning symphony of a
    Lovely day unfolds

As I took a
    short walk around
    with the distant noise
    of a vehicle on the road
    Sound of a distant aircraft
    Soft steps of my shoe
    and the clinking noise of my chain

Realized the moments of silence
    surpassing the moments of
    Sounds that filled the ears
    With no gadgets in my hand
    Felt the blissful moments of silence
    while my mind played those lyrics
    "How many sounds I came across
    To realize this Sound of Silence"

இந்த மௌனத்தை நான் அறிய
    எத்தனை வார்த்தைகள்
    கடந்து வந்தேன் ...

Last edited: Mar 2, 2018

2. sapthu02

sapthu02 Gold IL'ite

good one,,

jskls likes this.
  3. iyerviji

Super poem
    Everyone's day starts going for a walk early in the morning but my day starts going for a bath then my cooking and Pooja.

jskls and GeetaKashyap like this.
  4. GeetaKashyap

GeetaKashyap IL Hall of Fame

Dear Lakahmi @jskls,

A beautiful title for a poem that takes a note of everything that highlights the silence! Mindfulness at its peak.

Wonder what you wrote in Tamil!

jskls and iyerviji like this.
  5. iyerviji

She has written in Tamil the last two lines

jskls likes this.
  6. GoogleGlass

GoogleGlass IL Hall of Fame

there are 3 types primarily, the sound of silence, could be many other.

when you rise above the mortal connections - it is peace
    when you are left all alone fighting with misery - it is noisier than all the noises
    when in a group if you keep aloof or eventually dropped out - it is pain

first would be the best choice and hope you are in that league

nice one ls

சம்பந்தம் இல்லா என்னுடைய உளறலை பொருக்கவும்:

சப்த ரிஷிகள் - நாய்சி ரிஷிகள் - மந்திர உச்சாடனம் - ரசிக்கலாம்

நிசப்த ரிஷிகள் - கொயட் ரிஷிகள் - ஆழ்ந்த தியானம் - ருசிக்கலாம்

சப்த ரிஷிகளை போல் அல்லாது, நிசப்த ரிஷியாக இருப்பது நல்லது, ரசிப்பதினினும் ருசிப்பது நன்றன்றோ

periamma, Amica and jskls like this.
  7. jskls

jskls IL Hall of Fame

Thank you. Glad u liked it

8. jskls

jskls IL Hall of Fame

Thanks Viji Aunty. Thanks for sharing about your day. I just combine different events and write. Sometimes add my own imagination to it. My usual routine for walks is in the afternoon and that too mostly indoors because of the cold weather.

9. jskls

jskls IL Hall of Fame

My dear Geetha mam thanks for your lovely comment. White noise and/or silence is like a backdrop that enhances various sounds that touches us. In an effort to increase mindfulness and be present in the moment these days I try to go for walks without gadgets. As Viji aunty said the ones I wrote in tamil essentially are the last two lines “ how many sounds I came across to realize this silence”. Glad you liked it

GeetaKashyap likes this.