1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Short Story - The Avatar

Discussion in 'Stories (Fiction)' started by Preethi, Nov 6, 2006.

1. Preethi

Preethi Gold IL'ite

Dear IndusLadies,

I am back with another one page short story called the "The Avatar". Hoping to hear the honest feedbacks from you for the story. I am still an amateur, so have no high expectations before you start ! :tongue

Love,
    Preethi
    --------------------------------------------------------------

The Avatar

Chennai, Saturday, Morning 6:00 A.M.

In the early morning hours of Saturday, the temple was thronged with huge crowd varying from children to elderly people, standing in the long queue, pushing against each other to see, through the chain of protection laid across the threshold of the Krishna temple, the fateful sight.

On the previous evening at the same Krishna temple, the majority of the same crowd had gathered with deepest enthusiasm and devotion for a celebration to commemorate the anniversary of the temple and to see the glitter of the golden statue of Lord Krishna, decked up with priceless precious stones. In the place where the effulgent Krishna stood the previous night, is now filled with vacuum. After the temple was locked, some anti-social activist group had found their way inside and had stolen the Lord and his jewels. Now the place in and around the temple is bustling with police and trained dogs going from pillar-to-post to catch any trace of the culprits and investigating for any clue. All check-post has been alerted and every place in the city were sealed with tight security and watched meticulously for identification of any possible suspects. There is no way the gang could escape.

Chennai, Sunday, Morning 6:00 A.M.