Severe Cold During Pregnancy, Will It Affect My Baby?

Discussion in 'Pregnancy & Labor' started by Meenu1991, Jul 3, 2017.

1. Meenu1991

Meenu1991 Bronze IL'ite

Hi everyone

Am in 37 weeks and 2 days back had a throat infection. I took some home remedies like salt water gargling, oil pulling and had warm fluids all day. But it later developed to a severe cold and runny nose with a mild fever. My doc has given me a tablet- sinarest.

Am worried if these might affect my baby.

Please help me !!

2. WiseAgnes

WiseAgnes Gold IL'ite

Hi, dear
    Please, don't worry. Sinarest is a safe choice for pregnant women and it wouldn't affect a baby. Make sure you get enough rest, fluids all day long and salt water gargling is a great idea. Just try to relax, get plenty of sleep and enjoy your pregnancy. Pretty soon, your newborn won't let you sleep :) I'm a doctor myself and a mom of two kids if you were wondering. Good luck!

RohiniVenkat likes this.
  3. Sunburst

Sunburst Platinum IL'ite

Cold and fever won't affect your baby. I had it during my pregnancy and infact I never took any medicines for cold . I just let it run it course . No complications whatsover and I delivered a very healthy baby.

4. deeprapriya

deeprapriya Gold IL'ite

Have turmeric,pepper mixed with milk... U can have it twice, this will reduce the cold...Also apply vicks on Nose,throat and head.... you will feel better.... dnt worry, it will not affect the baby.

Sweety82 likes this.
  5. Meenu1991

Meenu1991 Bronze IL'ite

Thank you Glad to know it is safe to have those tableta during pregnancy. Since i also had severe runny nose and chest congestion she has given novamox for 5 days. I think its an antibiotic. Is it also safe?

6. Meenu1991

Meenu1991 Bronze IL'ite

Hi sunburst

Yea even i thought i can manage without medicines and tried all home rememdies, but it got worst over time. So had to take these medicines :( Am scared when i keep coughing a lot.
    Hope the baby is doing fine inside.