Requiem

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by satchitananda, May 9, 2019.

1. satchitananda

Do you remember the Indian films of yore? Of course, I only mean those of you were around at that time, or those who have watched them nonetheless. Do you remember the moment when boy saw girl, girl saw boy for the first time? That could be set in a million different situations - the traditional arranged marriage girl seeing ceremony, hero comes and bashes up villain who is trying to get fresh with heroine, they keep bumping into each other in college, in the market ..... whatever! Do you remember women going weak in the knees and all gooey eyed at the romance?

Fast forward to the future. Boy chases girl. Asks her 'aati kya Khandaala'? Girl slaps boy ..... or goes along, depending on how he looks or how rich he is. If she refuses she has acid thrown on her face. Romance? No need. After all results are what matter. The goal of the journey is what is important. Why bother which route you take?

Still further into the age of virtual reality. We started with match making sites - Bharat Matrimony, Tinder ..... And now there seems to be some confusion about the purpose of an online game. Like Words with Friends. The "words" include "Hi". No response from other side. "How are you doing?" "Hey!" There is an expression in German which directly translated means 'falling into the house with the door' meaning no need for niceties like ringing the bell, introducing oneself or one's purpose of coming ..... nothing. Just break open the door and fall into the house. Come straight to the point. That seems to be the modern age mantra.

Let us assume the other party gets fed up and directly says she hates to break his illusion, but she is old enough to be an elderly aunt of his. Guy vamooses ..... if he is from the West. If he is an older man from the West or a young man from India, there are more questions coming. So old aunty has only one option. Bark loudly at them to scare them off or block them.

Whatever happened to good old fashioned manners? Where do you live? What do you do for a living? Are you married? Do you have kids? Why not? :rage: What do you look like? :rolleye: Refuse to answer any question and the person does not play the next move (of Words with Friends I mean).

This is a requiem for old fashioned romance. It is evident there is no place for niceties. No patience to engage another individual in casual conversation. Instant gratification. Instant information. That is what everyone is looking for. Even information that does not concern them in any way whatsoever. No wonder there are so many issues in relationships today.

Last edited: May 10, 2019

2. Gauri03

Gauri03 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

In the age of Tinder no one has the time to be tender. Our short attention spans demand 'insta' everything including quick, fuss-free, easily disposable romantic liaisons. We went from this,

to this.

It is a loss, indeed!

Disclaimer: The second song is incredibly catchy. I'm guilty of humming it once in a while. : )

Thyagarajan, kkrish, Afresh and 2 others like this.
  3. satchitananda

Haye, yeh sab dekhne se pahele hi main mar kyon nahi gayee!

Last edited: May 10, 2019
  4. Gauri03

Gauri03 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Lol! I wanted to link another song but I was too embarrassed. Times have changed and we've joined the GOD club: The Good Old Days.

kaniths and satchitananda like this.
  5. satchitananda

LOL. After watching the original Leela Chitnis and Ashok Kumar version, I came across a duo singing it on stage and it was really cute!

6. Viswamitra

Viswamitra IL Hall of Fame

Dear Satchi,

When Sojji and Bhajji were prepared, the bride's family will proudly say that they were all prepared by the bride herself to express her culinary skills. Then, one of the relatives used to ask the bride to sing to make sure she had a nice and melodious voice. Old grandma used to carefully watch whether the bride was walking normally when she brings the cups of coffee. MIL will whisper in the bride's ear that her earrings looks great to check whether the bride could hear or not.

But the bridegroom used to sit along with all the men and women in a comfortable cushion and there was no way for the bride to find out what the heck this guy was all about. How fair was this model?

7. satchitananda

When did 'fairness' or 'justice' have anything to do with the traditional patriarchal set up, Viswa? Sad but true.

The sad story is that in times gone by, the woman was a possession to be protected and then handed over for safe keeping to another male.

Today woman seems to be a desirable object to be chased without any pretentions at subtlety. The only positive I see in this is that one knows the intentions of the guy without any waste of time and one can chase them away with stones, words or brick bats.

Viswamitra likes this.
  8. Viswamitra

Hi Satchi,

Spiritually, the spirit is the positive energy and all other body, mind and intellect whether it is of male's or female's are negative energy. Whether it is a child or a spouse, nothing is a possession and everyone of them whether they are parents or spouse, they are just a custodian. All that we see in the society is paradigm that was artificially created and can be broken easily by change of attitude, behavior and character.

satchitananda likes this.
  9. Amulet

Amulet IL Hall of Fame

OK... so we are evolving from those "old fashioned values" to the modern way, of using the internet and mobile to find someone to be rude to.

If one can only get tender feelings temporarily, most might think that is better than nothing at all. After a person is totally tendered out, s/he can get on with the misery of whatever that awaits. After all, we have all heard that thing about "it is better to have felt that tender feeling, than not to have been tendered at all";)

In crowded countries expressing tender feelings can be difficult. Now there is an app for that, called stayuncle. A scheme much like love hotels of a lot of other oriental countries.

10. Viswamitra

Stay uncle? What a name for the app.