Ramadan in Dubai

Discussion in 'Places & Events in Dubai' started by balamotwani, Sep 9, 2007.

1. balamotwani

balamotwani Bronze IL'ite

Hi Ladies,

I am new to dubai. I am happy and worried about ramadan in dubai. Happy because the office timings for my hubby is only till 2pm. So i was planning to go out often and enjoy.

But i came to know that there are some restrictions regarding restaurants that they can do home delivery only to hindus and christians and that we cannot eat in the restaurant from morning untill sunset. We shouldnt even drink or eat in public during ramadan. Offenders will be punished. i always carry a water bottle with me whenever i go out, so is it not allowed to drink.

Ladies please share your experiences .
    Have you ever been warned or punished during ramadan?

2. chitrajan

chitrajan Bronze IL'ite

Dear Bala,

Having lived for the past 7 yrs in the Gulf region, I have not heard of anyone being punished.

Religions and cultures are different and unique and we should learn to respect them. Ramadan month being a holy month for the local people as well as Muslims throughout the world, has fasting as the most important aspect and holds a religious significance to them.

As for going out and eating out, hotels are open after the fast is broken every day and you can enjoy your dinner out often. I am sure that you will not want to drink water as soon as you step out of the house.

Also since most of the offices will be closing early, traffic jams will arise between 2-5 pm time and so the people who leave office at 2 will also reach home late -- This is from my personal experience.

So unless your office and house are in the same building, reaching home will take the same time - only that a person can reach home 2 hours earlier than usual for a few weeks.

3. sugarnspice

sugarnspice Bronze IL'ite

Hi Bala,