Please help - first baby and lot of postpartum depression

Discussion in 'Post Pregnancy Care' started by poojsharma, Dec 6, 2011.

1. poojsharma

poojsharma New IL'ite

Hi everyone,

I am new to IL and looking for some help on dealing with postpartum depression. My Baby is 3 months old and I was quite ok in first one month. because of babys arrival and my mom coming over to help as well. i live in mumbai alone with my husband and there is no social circle due to the BPO jobs both of us do. Once my mother went back, I started worrying about leaving baby with the mad, job security, etc. Also I had my first baby at 31 and now I regret waiting for so long. I feel if I am not able to work in my 50s, my baby's future could be endangered. My husband has eyesight issues and he wont be able to work for a very long time. I am seriously planning to quit the job and do something of my own now so that by the time baby is going to school, i am settled, however, due to depression, i have lost the courage to do anything. I am worrying too much about the future and it is impacting my present, my baby and my husband...

anyone who can offer some counselling or advice is welcome,

thanks,
    Pooja

2. ars

ars Platinum IL'ite

You are only in your 30's and you are thinking about 50's.
    Many woman and couple have kids in 40's
    Just plan for the present and focus on the present and enjoy the present.
    Looks like you are just back to work and overwhelmed. So you are focusing on 20 years down the road instead of tackling your current new work schedule.
    How is the baby doing with Maid. If the baby is healthy and happy half your battle is already won.
    Talk to the people whom you work with and see how they are planning their days.
    Talk to H and plan financially so you are saving for baby and retirement.
    Also, talk to your doctor. Doctor will be of great help.

3. poojsharma

poojsharma New IL'ite