Paintings : Tanjore Paintings - Instructions / Tutorial

Discussion in 'Paintings' started by theartisticone, Jun 18, 2009.

1. tejasviannaram

tejasviannaram New IL'ite

can you send me the sketches for radha krishna

2. sphema

sphema Bronze IL'ite

I am new to this Tanjore painting & painting one has been my dream... Can anyone guide me from the basics... Since, this is the first time, I wish to do a painting that is of a medium size notebook size.. Can please help me with the instructions, materials, sketches if any (goddess Lakshmi to begin with).. Please!
    Hema

3. Munichvasi

Munichvasi New IL'ite

Hello all, I am a beginner to Tanjore paintings and looking for online partner to discuss and learn the methods. Is it possible to get a tutorial or a group in Munich?

4. sasikala196

sasikala196 Platinum IL'ite

Thanks for this information. Its very useful

5. padmapriya1

padmapriya1 Gold IL'ite

Pls clarify why this treated board is used for ?
    Is this anyway linked to Tanjore painting. Kindly clarify.

6. LakshmiNeel

LakshmiNeel Senior IL'ite

I am new to tanjore painting. Can anyone tel me the steps and procedure i wish to learn tanjore painting.
    I have one Tanjore painting gifted by my relative that painting has inspired me to learn this.

Pls help me..

7. kaluputti

kaluputti Platinum IL'ite

I see that there are lots of queries for learning tanjore painting.But it is something that should be learnt personally from a teacher, since the procedure raises a lot of doubts and questions which can be clarified through demo rather than verbally.cracked boards are the mistakes of proportion of powder and glue, the quality, brand etc. varying.

8. kaluputti

Tanjore painting involves a lot of effort, time, valuable raw materials etc. Such an art work should last at least for many years.This is the reason we start from using treated boards, which might prevent termites and weather related deterioration to the paintings.

9. kaluputti

The web abounds with instruction material for a total novice in the form of videos etc.Try spending time to browse and you can arrive at an idea.

10. kaluputti

I wonder why a beginner should go in for small boards since it might involve painting a very small face, unless she/he is an expert in art.There are two stages in a tanjore painting.
    1.the raised effect given according to preference.
    2.painting and finishing.
    Initially it is better to concentrate on the 1st aspect and select lord balaji's face only, and learn the basics, with no major painting involved.Then proceed to some complex subjects, side by side takeing some art practice involving face, and its components.This is :my2cents!