1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Not sure where to post but VENT!!

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by showmemiss, Nov 13, 2014.

1. showmemiss

showmemiss New IL'ite

I don't know really where to write this but marriage brought me here! I have been living in the states for over 10 years now and never really took to the life here. For 9 years I lived in a small town in Midwest where we had 40 Indians in total and almost life was next to nothing. The past year it is a vibrant city life but I feel I have seen it all - small town big city.. And US life has been hard to digest. I studied here, worked too but life felt pale. I cant drive very well. I hate the chores. I am terrible at the us style of making friends. I hate the closed door lifestyle.. I am a housewife with a kid and ny heart goes out to my daughter as she has no playmates and the play date thing is very tedious as most of you would admit. I am a misfit. I am an anxious terrified driver. I hardly go on highways. You can tell if you cant drive, you cant live here since public transportation is pathetic. I feel like I have a lot within me but it never blooms here. I go inside and inside. I always had an analogy - the plants and trees don't grow eveywhere.. Only certain plants thrive in certain conditions and animals are like that too.. Nature is like that.. Humans shouldn't be any different. I feel maybe I am better off elsewhere but my husband just is my opposite. He is a american patriot. I get that there are many things going great here but really they are not on my wanted list. I love our quintessential indian lifestyle.. I love the autos and steet vendors and the easy approach to relationships(friends) the haggling and the plethora of services at disposal.. I dont fancy DIY.. But my husband thinks there is no way I can be the way I am and the women here surely aren't like me. Am I really alone in this? I mean 10 years is a long time to know where I really