Navaratri Golu In United States 1st Time Need Advice

Discussion in 'Festivals, Functions & Rituals' started by sumalynux, Sep 14, 2017.

1. sumalynux

sumalynux IL Hall of Fame

Hi anyone to keep Golu/Bommai/Bombe.. what do you use for golu steps

Any tips regarding keeping golu is appreciated

To recite on all 9-days of Navratri - DOWNLOAD - Navaratri Shlokas & Mantras

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 26, 2017
    Thyagarajan likes this.

2. BhumiBabe

BhumiBabe Platinum IL'ite

Hi @sumalynux

This is my first time doing golu at my house, but my mom has been doing it for years in the US. The first year, she was using the brick fireplace for Golu, but after that she has expanded it to wooden planks from Lowe's/Home Depot. I found this blogpost with great details about setting one up. It's more detailed than I ever can be. Love & Lentil: How to build Navarathri Golu Steps

I am still a bit new to the scene, and honestly don't have the space for the full effect. This year, I am using cardboard boxes (filled with books or something to keep their shape), and stacking them up as steps.

Last edited: Sep 14, 2017
  3. jskls

jskls IL Hall of Fame

4. sumalynux

sumalynux IL Hall of Fame

I dont have much doll collection. Live in New Jersey.

Also I have a toddler. So I am looking for more of temporary steps made with cardboard to keep in pooja mandir itself (closet converted to pooja mandir)

And any info about what has to be kept in each step? Or any advice tips appreciated

sindmani and jskls like this.
  5. jskls

jskls IL Hall of Fame

Last edited: Sep 15, 2017
  6. sindmani

sindmani Platinum IL'ite

I am planning to buy dolls in dollar tree.

jskls likes this.
  7. peartree

peartree Platinum IL'ite