Navarathri – please share ideas/tips/suggestions/solutions etc….

Discussion in 'Festivals, Functions & Rituals' started by Sudha Kailas, Sep 9, 2010.

1. giriraj

giriraj Bronze IL'ite

2. Padhmu

Padhmu IL Hall of Fame

Hai Sudha,

thanks for opening this thread. useful for those who celebrated navarathiri. one or two tips - how to maintain the dolls. keep the dolls wrapped in old cotton cloth instead of wrapping with plastic covers. Also keep a small pocket of powdered Vasmbu with dolls so that they wont be spoiled by small insects.

If any idea strikes in my mind I will post.

3. nityakalyani

nityakalyani Gold IL'ite

Sudha ma the cheapest and easy padi are:

1- lowest one - palagas [ the one we use for sitting before doing pooja]
    2 step- the small stainless steel dabas that can hold 2 kgs- cover it with kadapa stones
    3 step- a cental table or put the bigger box the ones we use to keep attas - cover it with wooden planks
    4 step - our study table
    5 step - none other than our computer table.

i would suggest to keep empty spaces at both sides because we can use them for thematic idols.

hope this would solve for people who do not have a padi stand at home

nityakalyani

4. Sudha Kailas

Sudha Kailas IL Hall of Fame

Usha mami, very useful tip to preserve the bommais.
    Thank you......keep sharing...

5. Sudha Kailas

Nitya, very nice idea for making the padis....
    Thanks for sharing.......keep coming up with ideas, suggestions, tips, etc......

6. deepagopalan

deepagopalan Gold IL'ite

Nitya nice idea for making padi,last year my dad made and give me 5 padi using plywood,this time am planing for 7 padi but was wondering how to adjust two more..now your 1st two steps idea will work for me ....thanks a lot dear.

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 9, 2010
  7. deepagopalan

deepagopalan Gold IL'ite

Dear Sudha,

good start and very useful thread..
    lastyear me too painted dolls to keep them fresh and good looking, also i bought some dull dolls at cheap rate,and after that me and my dad we painted and gave them all fresh bright colour and good finishing,they all looked new after painting.
    :cheers
    deepu

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 9, 2010
  8. Sudha Kailas

Deepu, remember your wonderful golu......
    I am glad that you enjoyed this thread.
    Why dont you also share some tips and ideas.....that comes to you on and off.....that would benefit everyone now.......
    Thanks for visiting and sharing your comments......

9. Preethi Ganesan

Preethi Ganesan New IL'ite

hi.. thanks for starting this thread..

I currently live in US and this navaratri is the first one after my marriage :) any tips / ideas / suggestions for the golu? As u know, we dont get much traditional golu bommais here...

10. sreesai

sreesai Senior IL'ite

Dear Sudha madam,

I always admire Golu. We perform pooja during Navarathi but dont have the concept of Golu (neither my mom;s side has it nor my mil's side). Can you please let me know if I can start Golu even if it is not followed in our families?

- Sree