1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Musings Over A Cup Of Coffee...

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by padma0604, Jun 23, 2016.

1. padma0604

padma0604 Silver IL'ite

A very interesting thing happened today.

Generally hours slip by without my being aware of them. I am so busy doing things that I am not conscious of how the time rushes through my daily chores and routine. Being mindful? I am still a novice at that, though I try to be mindful, whenever I remember:) More often than not I forget to be conscious of what is happening. I just flow and go with the routine. However, there are moments when I am aware, when I catch a moment in it's totality and beauty, and I am with what is happening at that moment.

Today after coming home from office, I was having my coffee. I sat down with a cup of coffee in my hand, feeling the heat of the cup and enjoying the aroma of fresh filter coffee. I was relaxed. I suddenly thought of those people who made such beautiful glass cups and felt thankful. I could see in my mind's eye, hands working to blow the glass and make the glasses...wherever their personal lives were at that point of time. I wished all of them and their families joy from the bottom of my heart.

As I was feeling the glass, I thought that they must have a natural earth base and thanked mother earth. Later on, I googled and came to know that glass is made of molten sand!!

I was aware of my fingers wrapped around the cup, feeling the warmth of the coffee and wondered at the dexterity with which my fingers manage to do so many things. The feeling of warm coffee and the taste buds helping me enjoy the taste ...isn't this to be thanked? I felt immensely grateful to my body for being healthy enough to enjoy life. I felt happy for being present to the moment.