Moving to London from Singapore

Discussion in 'Indians in London' started by nads, Nov 20, 2010.

1. nads

nads New IL'ite

Hi Everyone,

I am lucky to find this forum as I believe it will address all my queries. My husband has got a job in London and will be working in Canary Wharf area. He is a senior executive and will be handsomely paid. I am also a Hindi teacher, teaching in Singapore schools for last 5 years.
    We have two kids - 8 & 5.

I need advice on following
    1. Nice area for residence and school. We intend to send our kids to govt schools. I have heard that Wimbledon & Greenwich are nice place but not sure whether there are many Indians. I'd like to make lot of friends as well. Pls advice recommended areas near good primary schools.
    2. Job - Any job for me as a Hindi teacher or tutor. I am ok for other opportunities as well. FYI, I am an excellent cook and try making new recipes.

Appreciate your early reply.

Thanks,

Nidhi

2. Sabitha_K

Sabitha_K Gold IL'ite

Dear Nidhi,

Welcome to IL :welcome

Greenwich and Wimbledon are both nice residential areas.Since Greenwich is closer to Canary Wharf, you might want to check it out first.

I hope some other iLites pitch in for schools in London.

Check out the classified section in gumtree (United Kingdom jobs, cars, property, free classifieds and more - Gumtree.com) site to know about the opportunities and certifications needed for a Hindi tutor to teach in London.I am sure you would find something to keep you busy.:thumbsup

Wow , great cook ! I am gonna swoop at your place soon and learn some nice delicacies then, beware :crazy.

3. nads

nads New IL'ite

Thanks for info Sabitha. You are most welcome. Is there any recommendation for good living area near to good primary schools. I am very concerned for my kids education and it seems this is one area where I have not been able to find much info.