Moving to Chicago - Need advice for choosing apartment

Discussion in 'Indians in Chicago' started by SarikaRaj, Dec 18, 2011.

1. SarikaRaj

SarikaRaj New IL'ite

Dear IL members,
    I am new to this forum and need your valuable suggestion for choosing a safe apartment in Chicago suburbs where we can have some Indian friends. We are from North Carolina, moving to chicago early Jan next year.

My husband have offices in Riverwoods and Chicago Downtown, he may need to travel to both of them frequently. I am looking for a apartment community in Des plains area, so that we stay in middle of these 2 areas. Kindly suggest me some options.

Sarika

2. SarikaRaj

SarikaRaj New IL'ite

There are 64 views but no replys :(

Can someone please guide me here. Thanks

Sarika

3. ran1983

ran1983 New IL'ite

I live in downtown, i dont know much abt suburbs. did u checked sulekha?

Saritha

Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  4. vj2012

vj2012 New IL'ite

we live in mundelein (Madison apts )near to Des plains , most of the indians stay here and it is very near to malls, walmart, garden fresh etc.

we are planning to move from this location and we are ready to give our 2 bhk for sublease, also furniture. If u r interested plz let me know.

thank u,
    jhansi

5. shree

shree Silver IL'ite

westmont might also be a good option for u. do check if it is close to your husbands office.

6. ladysteelspine

ladysteelspine New IL'ite

Hi Shree,
    I am also in the same situation. need a good apartment close to train station. Could u tell me good apartments in westmont.
    Sneha.

7. shree

shree Silver IL'ite

hi sneha,

if u r concerned about indian population then 1.twin lakes and 2.fountains at stone crest are the 2 major apts here that has enough indian population. the former is a renovated one with little higher rent than the later. the later is non renovated. bus to train station comes in front of the 2 apts everyday. let me know if u need any further information.

8. ladysteelspine

Thanks Shree. Is it mandatory in Chicago that I have to rent a 2 bed apt if I have one child (1yr)? some apartment places I have been talking to tell me so!!

9. shree

shree Silver IL'ite

the age of the kid might vary from apt to apt. but most of them ask u to go for only 2 bedroom. i think ours is 18 months and older for 2 bedroom (anyways not sure).

10. ladysteelspine

Thanks for the info Shre.. Finally we are coming to see these 2 apts tomorrow and will finalize on one of them. We felt this place as a good choice after considering lots of factor, if not for u- we wouldnt have known this place. Will try to meet u when I finally move ( end of feb).
    Thanks again,
    Sneha.