Mother's Day Special Contest - Are you a super mom? - May 2011

Discussion in 'Topic of the Month - Contest' started by IL_Admin, Apr 29, 2011.

1. suresh51

suresh51 New IL'ite

I honestly believe in every word of yours & truly understand your position. I was in abudhabi for 20 yrs, getting a job there is not as easy as everyone thinks about middle east.
    All the best dont give up, Hamara ghar mein dare hein andhere nahi hai ( this is a hindi proverb so convert it)

s bijjahalli

2. suresh51

suresh51 New IL'ite

Wow that was a nice one, don't you worry a day will come when your daughter will you only as amma & will understand you too.
    Not to worry about not feeding her while you were pregnant, she would have taken away all the nutrients from you leaving you under nourished.
    Take care
    s bijjahalli

3. amul

amul Silver IL'ite

Dear aarthi

my prayers for your mother and she will come back with good health and will be there for you to guide and support you

4. Shubguru

Shubguru New IL'ite

Dear Iladies....

Being a mother of 2 , today I feel happy to be a Mother and I am proud of it too.... and the reason to be is here...

In 1998 I was blessed with a boy and was moving forward as a challenging working mother managing home and work. After 8+ years , in 2007 i delivered my second boy child and to all our surprise at home , the child according to our Gynic had a " Shoulder Distorcia" and will be well after a while.... We were directed to do Physiotherapy regularly for the child to be normal... But later when we visited an Ortho Specialist , he said that the child has an Erbs Palsy (Left side) and may not be able to do much for us as it is the fault of the Dr. during labour ... Post that , we were continuing the therapy blindly without understanding what next and one day when my husband came back after a Doc's visit ,he said , it might take some years for the child to come back to normal !! I broke down....
    After this , I decided that I will never break down for this child and will do my best... My search on the net fo more details on "Brachial Plexux Injury" started and I understood that the child needed mothers support than any one...

Almost every alternate day I started taking him for therapy and I was doing this along with my job at WIPRO as an Asst Manager - HR... With very good support from our Dr. who was a Hand Specialist , we did one surgery when the child was 1.7 yrs and after 21 days again started with therapy... Thanks to my son who co-operated with me amost every day while we did therapy between 8.00 p.m. and 10.00 p.m. , as I was a working mother... The Doc adviced us to concentrate more on theray as he could see a very drastic improvement in the child's progress and with tis feedback , I quit my job in June 2010 and contnd therapy. We administered a Botox injection early this year and and now we have done the second surgery ( Bone Correction). The Doctor appreciated me for the effort taken during therapy for improvements in teh functionality for the child and those words of the Doctor make me feel proud.

My entire family including my elder son has extended a lot of support for me to move towards the path of progress and I am grateful to our therapist and family for this...

Today my note to mothers are "Be ready to face the worst and even the worst will seem easy to pass through"

Thanks for the opportunity...

Shubashree G
    Chennai

5. sushmitatkb

sushmitatkb New IL'ite

Mom - No girl/lady would understand the depth of this word unless she became a mother, not even me unless GOD has blessed me with my daughter on this MOTHER'S DAY. My daughter came into my world on 8th May of this year, after that I have noticed huge change in me and people around me.
    When I got to know that I am pregnant, I feel a sudden responsibility on my shoulders, many tensions and fear surrounded me that how would I make her grow, I can't even hold a child, what will I do when she'll cry, how would I understand what is her problem and so on......
    When nurse bring her to me in labour room and lay down her besides me in stretcher, a burst of motherhood runs into my blood and tears of happiness came out of my eyes and I forgot all the pains and suffering during the pregnancy and delivery.
    I feel surprised that automatically I learned how to hold her, how to feed her, how to make her calm when she cries, I got to know her problem and when she smiles that feeling is beyond this world.......
    Like every parent I also want to give my child all happiness in this world, I don't want to be a strict mother but yes discipline is must with pampering....

Thanks for reading this with patience
    Sushmita

6. hema76

hema76 Silver IL'ite

I understand ur pain shubashree, becoz even me as a mother feels so bad when my daughter fall on sick or even i find any small spots in her body, but u have faced a great pain which is not an easy one to digest but i am very happy to know that u have overcome the constrains without taking it in a negative way

u r really a super mom becoz of ur son ,

7. hema76

hema76 Silver IL'ite

Mother is a very special relation for every lives in this world ,

mom's are made as super mom's only becoz of their super child .

I remember my labour ward situation, the moment i felt the high pain ,nurses gave a force in my stomach and the baby came out , once my baby came out ,it cried a lot and they put my baby in between my two legs ,i just cant raise my head to see my baby as treatment is going , but i felt my babys hand is touching my legs softly , while it was crying , at that moment i couldn't believe that i was a mother even i have all like, ten month dreams ,

i forgot to ask about the sex of my baby but I asked my doctor is it the child normal , she replied yes then they went to clean her , doctor asked me to take a rest but i couldn't do and i can't, while at labour pain i was just feeling so tired and i felt to sleep as like anything , my eyes were drowning a lot but pain comes and it tilts me ,but after the delivery i don't feel any sleep, also not in any of the corner of my eyes . After my baby's birth i din sleep for 3 days fully not becoz of her disturbance but becoz of the happiness, i want to enjoy and realize the happiness by seeing her face all through , that i have got my mother back with me , My mother died at my teen age leaving a unrecoverable pain my heart .but my baby is a medicine for my pain

All mothers will dream about their child while pregnancy , i also dream about my child, to take her to the places where me and my mother went with the joined hands .i want to grow up as like my mother , I thought to do each and every work to my child by myself , and i have done it.

After delivers i began to work within 5 days , i started to gave bath to my child when she was 7 days .i learned all the home medicines for small cures ,i got used to remember all the medicines with their names ,

she use to cry from morning 9 to evening 6 without any interruption, i cant even get away from her even if want to drink water it is like a full time job, but a lovely job, i use to make her sleep by putting her in between my hands and will keep as like till she got up,

even a single hour i don't want to get her apart from me , i will carry her wherever i travel , i doesn't want to loose even a single moment without her ,

If she was sick , i will be very guilty as i have done something wrong , even i know that sickness and cold is common.True love neglect all the logical truth na?

i collected her baby nails baby hair and the first dress and the first toy everything which is always a treasure for me ,

I captured all her new actions, starts from smiling ,turning,first stood up , first moving, first sitting ,first speech , first walk every thing in my video library .

By moving with her all through the days i came to know her deeply , i can analyse her and i can tell that what she is going to do next , This analysation helps me to improve her in a way what i dream about .

When my kid was 2 and half years old we planned to put her in play school to learn things and to get ready for the next yr school interview's , The first day when she went to the school was a moment which is unexplainable , i cant be happy nor sad , but i know i am not normal , i sent her only to play school but my feel at that time was as she was sent for some higher education ,i cant think her play school as a play school .

The recent moment which made us so proud was , she won a prize in her sports , she had the medal given by the guest and after getting she ran from the stage towards us and instantly without any comment she put her medal in her fathers neck, we wonder how she have done this , but the answer is don't know! , at that moment we feel like our daughter getting a high award .

Many moment can be shared when writing something about our loved ones ,

off course the best thing what a mother can give to her child was the love and support,

i ensure it all throughout her life

I find this as an good opportunity for expressing my love towards my daughter , i don't know i have written it neatly or nicely but , i knew i have written this from my heart ..

My mother is my daughter ,my daughter is my mother

I love my girl .

8. Varloo

Are you a Super Mom?
    Am I a super Mom? My son has to say if I am a super mom or not, shouldn’t he? But still, let me share my thoughts on being a Mom.
    As soon as it was confirmed that I was pregnant, after four years of waiting, I was so thrilled. I started talking to my baby from that moment. I shared everything with him. During my pregnancy I underwent a lot of stress and tension and my son was born just as he completed 31 weeks. Just a tiny figure with large eyes, lots of hair- not only on the tiny head but on the whole body including the cheeks, with a weight of 1.5 kg only. It was a challenge taking care of him and I was determined to have him with me and not lose out him to the God Yama.
    He came to normal when he became 5 months old. Then disaster struck- it was found that he has epilepsy. More things were in store – he had Attention Deficit Hyperactive Disorder, he had squint in the right eye, he had thyroid problem and lacked fine motor movements of the fingers and he needed prolonged treatment for all these.
    I was working in the Souther Railways and took leave off and on to take care of my son. Once this epilepsy was detected and we came to know that he needed specialised care, I resigned my job immediately. He was not to watch tv during that time because his brain should not be idle at all, it should be working or resting (sleeping).
    I accepted all this but it was a great effort to make my husband to accept this. A great circus of sort started with visits to doctors, therapists, psychologists, special educators. He was to study in a regular school and the school was a great help for me.
    My son could not do simple things like his peers. I used to get complaints from his peers about his unruly behavior in class every single day. I took it like Mother Yeshodha who had to hear complaints about the naughty Krishna. Worse was the attitude and comments of people who thought they were flawless. World is sometime very cruel towards others.
    He has to be taught at home individually. Myself and my husband studied from LKG to 10th standard with him, we did not write the exam, that is all. He has to practise even drawing a line with a scale and pencil at home daily, his fingers couldn't hold the scale in place. He could not button his shirt or tie his shoe laces.
    I took a vow that I will do everything possible to make my son stand on his own two legs, whatever hardships we have to endure. I turned my heart to a rock when I heard adverse remarks from people and devoted all my love to my son. He is a very brave and strong child, who co operated with me completely and went thro all hardships with a broad smile on his face and heart too.
    I never once felt that God cheated me bu giving such a child, but felt so sorry for my son that he could not have a normal childhood. He was not allowed to learn to ride a cycle or swimming which he was crazy about. I could not let him play with other children because he may have an attack of epilapsy any time, any place. He cannot be sent along with his peers for excursions because his medicines cannot be missed at all. He did not eat ice creams because he will get a sore throat which may cause fever and which in turn will cause an attack of fits.
    He had had fits while we were travelling by scooter, while I was travelling with him alone to my native Kerala and in a bus while we were on the way to hospital. I can never be too careful, I can never relax my vigil. I will jump up even from a deep sleep if at all his breathing changes a little.
    One special educator told me that my son won’t even pass the 8th standard of Matriculation Board, she was really very harsh. I was ready to accept that if it was truth. But it seemed that she was being very indifferent towards the chi ld. But my son proved her wrong with his hardwork and dedication and passed the 10th standard with 80% aggregate and the 12th standard with 78% aggregate (Maths, Physics, Chemistry, CS group) with 75% in Maths.
    He is now free of fits, thanks to his Doctor and our following her instructions to the T. Thyroid is managed for rest of the life, no other remedy for that. His squint had been removed with a surgery and following therapies and glasses. Now he is free of glassess also. And the medicines for epilepsy has been stopped on the doctor's advice. Still, I am always careful.
    Since he did not wish to study Engineering, he joined for a degree course in Mass Communication, on merit. He is living in a hostel and managing well, travelling to and from home and also for assignments.
    I am really proud of him – he is very honest, sympathetic to people in suffering, respectful to elders and to his teachers, generally a different species in today’s world.
    Last year, the Railways employees got a bonus of more than 70 days' salary. During that time, my son was weaned off epilepsy drugs. Then I commented that God has given me a very valueless bonus for all my hardwork be making my son free from his disease and thanked God for all the guidance I got from various people and the good doctors and other friends who helped me keep my faith intact.
    To be a good mom, I needed to do these things- love my child unconditionally, stand by him in thick and thin, be stern when needed, encourage him and also not to expect too much from him. Mainly not thrust my dreams on him.
    I dreamt that he should be successful in life. My son is making my dream come true now, he is all that and more. I wanted to be a good mom and he had made me a Super Mom! What do you people think?

9. sharan2010

sharan2010 Bronze IL'ite

Dear Saigeetha,
    Dont worry. U are indeed a super mom. Your daughter would realize your situation and say "My Mom is the best".

10. luckylady

luckylady New IL'ite

Hi Everybody!!

A mom is always a mom.......... doing her best for her children

My mom was so simple, confident, composed that she had always taken things in her life in her stride. My salutations to her........ I feel her absence around me

Coming to me, i have been, i am and i will be doing my best to see my child succeed in his chosen field. My son, who is about 15 years old smiled when i asked him what is his grading of me - an excellent / good / super / perfect mom...... his answer was " a loving and wonderful mom"

After 14 and half years, when i look back, i am really happy and thank god for giving me so much patience and wisdom that i was able to deal with the situations in the best possible ways. (My son is differently abled physically and mentally)

I will continue to do my best to see that my lovely child will stand on his own feet when he is grown up.

I will personally consider myself a super mom on a day when he is on his own...........

Lucky Lady:thumbsup