Jewelry making tools - images and names

Discussion in 'Jewellery Making' started by passionate89, Sep 2, 2012.

1. vjbunny

vjbunny IL Hall of Fame

Hi Passionate
    Thanks for clarifying my doubts dear

2. Snehadeepthi

Snehadeepthi New IL'ite

this is a verg useful tread!
    thank you very much.:)

3. leelapadmaja

leelapadmaja New IL'ite

Hi Sukanya garu,

I would like to learn making earrings. Can you please teach and give me some pointers ?

4. snithya

snithya Silver IL'ite

it is a very useful thread for beginners. You have mentioned only pliers and earring hooks. Why don't you continue this thread? You told that u will show other materials using for jewellery making. Kindly continue this thread please.

5. vjbunny

vjbunny IL Hall of Fame

6. vino

vino New IL'ite

Hai Sukanya
    Hai i am Vinodhini.recently more interested to dojJewellary with quilling.but have not got any tools except fish hook for earing.I live in Sharjah. I dont know where to buy pliers.I am waiting to get it.Can we get in online.Pls help me out.I am just a beginner
    Thank you
    vinu

7. sumanrathi

sumanrathi IL Hall of Fame

You can get all the tools and accessory at Rolla just opposite to Concord theater

shop name Al Majas Tailoring material shop ( If you need i will update you the phone number ) I am too beginner and i have finished making clay models today i have to form this as chain let me post soon

8. vino

vino New IL'ite

HAI SUKANYA, I am so happy to get a responce from you
    I will go to the shop and buy the required things.I have done some polymer clay
    charms and ear rings ,how can i post my pictures in this thread .pls guide me.you will be my first friend in this blog thank you.
    vinu
    :thankyou2:

9. sumanrathi

sumanrathi IL Hall of Fame

Nice to hear

Click the following : reply with quote > go advance > Manage attachment> upload file > once uploaded the post.

if you are not clear ask me freely

much eager to see your creative collections :)

10. aradhanalak

aradhanalak Silver IL'ite

Very helpful for beginners!

My 2 cents for all those interested in wire jewelry:

The tools you absolutely need to start off with:
    - Round nose pliers - Used for making loops, and spirals
    - Flush cutters - Used for cutting wire
    - Chain nose pliers - Most important - Lots of uses in wire work and beading
    - Nylon jaw pliers - For straightening wire before working with it
    - Flat nose pliers - Not as essential, but useful for holding and shaping wire components

Once you have these 5, you can start making wire jewelry! After this you can start collecting the important but non essential tools - such as 'files' to file the ends of your wires, step nose pliers, long nose needle pliers etc.

If anyone has any questions on this, feel free to ask me, I'll definitely try to help!