1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

It’s Tough to Be Working Mommy

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Moumita1, May 21, 2011.

1. Moumita1

Moumita1 Silver IL'ite

If motherhood is difficult for a working mom everywhere in the world, it may be actually much tougher in India, where there’s a huge lack of social support for mothers who work.

In the days of nuclear families, there are always a lack of professional child minders in India. When Savita’s elder child had nightmares in his dream at the tender age of six, Savita was worried. A teacher by profession, she had no option but to leave her two children with a babysitter for almost eight hours a day. The nightmares reached a peak when the child had waken up sweating and screaming. It was when Savita decided to take him to a doctor, and on doctor’s suggestion, she started a conversation with her child. She was horrified at the results. Little Harish used to be regularly locked up in his room, hit and threatened with dire consequences if he talks, by his babysitter. Savita had sacked the babysitter, and resigned from her job. Clearly, babysitting in India is yet to get to professionalism of the west.

I know of many such mothers who had given up working to be at home. And I have seen equally same numbers of mothers who have not given up their job in spite of all odds. Veena had sent her two year old to stay with her parents when she worked for a full one and half years, for there was no baby sitter available for the little one. She had somehow managed to cope with her seven year old son, her work and her household. So did my friend Shyama, and Neeti. And these are only examples I know of. There must be so many of them I am not even aware of, mommies, who had decided to stay away from their children to earn money.