Is Udacity Nanodegree Worth It?

Discussion in 'Education & Personal Growth' started by shravs3, Apr 27, 2018.

1. shravs3

shravs3 IL Hall of Fame

Hello all,
    I have 5 years of Experience in IT back in India . Had to quit my job after moving to US. I was working as a Java developer. During my 4th year I changed my company and the project which I had worked on was outdated project which was almost 15 years and it was support project which I got to know only after joining the company . So I totally lost interest in Java wen I was working there. But now I’m really confused whether should I continue in Java or move to something which adds value to my resume .
    And also I’m worried in getting job here with just Bachelors degree.
    I sometimes plan to move to Automation testing but sometimes my mind is like go with Development . Never had I been so confused with my career.

Recently checked Full stack web development Nanodegree program from Udacity . Is it worth it and will it help to get a job without any project experience ?

And I’m not getting any calls when I apply directly in companies website directly ? I really don’t understand the reason .

Now the only option left is consultancy I’m unsure if they help to find a job cos I have seen many negative reviews where they take money and don’t even bother later .

And I don’t feel like doing Masters also.
    I’m sure I need to upgrade my skills but confused with wat to choose .
    I’m really worried need guidance from others .

Sandycandy likes this.

2. Gauri03

Gauri03 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Here's a discussion on this from Quora -- https://www.quora.com/Are-Udacity-Nanodegrees-worth-it-for-finding-a-job