1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Is this really necessary?

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by lampdeepa, Jun 25, 2012.

1. lampdeepa

lampdeepa Silver IL'ite

Hi All,
    This is my first attempt to write, as I always feel that I can never express my feelings in words. This is just an attempt to get over the fobia of writing :)
    Today as I was doing my regular chores in the kitchen my thoughts wandered over something. Just putting them in words. Mind you not to hurt anyone’s feelings.
    One of my closest relative touches her husband’s feet as the first thing in the morning, and when I got to know of it, I was really shocked. :hide: I respect our tradition and culture I do wear a mangalasutra, bindi, bangles and toe ring. But touching my husband’s feet (everyday) is something beyond myself. To be frank in my 8 years of marriage not even once have I touched my husband’s feet, more over my husband doesn’t like me touching his feet. :bowdown
    It is not that I am against all these, but what I fail to understand is:bonk , do such women really do this out of respect towards their husband? Or is it more of a showoff kind of a thing or something out of tradition or custom or may be just out of habit? I feel it is more of a showoff kind of a thing, because I know many women who on the one hand are always shouting or taunting their husband over some thing or the other and then on the other hand do pooja’s for their husband’s long life and touch their feet in the mornings and during festivals :crazy. So is it more of a habit or a custom or tradition? Why is this done at all? I mean touching husband’s feet n all that.