1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

indian vegetarian homecooked meals sought - los angeles area

Discussion in 'Indians in Los Angeles' started by trillium, Jul 19, 2010.

1. trillium

trillium New IL'ite

greetings to all who may come across this post; we're so glad you did!

while i was in college, i had the amazing opportunity to live and to learn in old delhi for one year. i was an exchange student through the university of california education abroad program (in my case, i attended delhi school of economics, lived in mukherjee nagar, and traveled as often as i could). as an american with a lifelong love and respect for indian culture, this was a dream come true for me. and i LOVED my time in india.

as you can imagine, i was spoiled rotten by the availability of delicious indian cuisines of all types, from street vendors to family cooked meals to the occasional upscale gourmet fare, north to south indian, gujarati, rajasthani, bengali, so many varieties of wonderful foods. back in california, now, where there are many fine indian restaurants, i still find myself missing having the great good fortune to eat a healthy mix of veggies and delectables prepared indian-style every-single-day. maybe aside from some visits to little india in artesia, i cannot seem to find less-usual dishes in indian restaurants in america, and my tastebuds are suffering for it. ;>)

here's the crux of things...

my partner and i now live in the los angeles area, glendale to be exact, and we're hoping to find an inspired and experienced indian cook who would enjoy cooking a little extra vegetarian food -- beyond the amount you may already cook your own family -- for some very grateful california kids who would happily pay for the privilege to enjoy your culinary creations.