1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

I m goin Onshore. Need Guidance

Discussion in 'Indians in Bay Area' started by shalsraaj, Dec 14, 2011.

1. shalsraaj

shalsraaj Bronze IL'ite

Hi ILs,

I am an IT professional and I am travelling onshore for an assignment to Pleasanton, California. I m goin on a H1B accompanying my spouse and kid in H4. My husband is looking after his own business here and ll take care of it from there.
    I have got a million questions now. It would be gr8 if someone can guide me thru the process.
    Here are some of them,
    1. Do we get fully furnished houses for rent there? will they be very expensive?

2. I m a Senior Software Engineer. What would be my minimum take home per month I ll get there? :bonkI knw it sounds stupid to ask this. I ll be knowin this frm my company only when I go for visa stamping. I still hav a week for that. Just tell me the approximate amt to get a vague picture.

3. We have got a new Royal Enfield bullet last month. Have plans of taking it there. Hw far is that possible and what is the best way for that?

4. Are pet animals allowed with us in flight? We have an Arowana fish which we badly wanna take with us. Is tat possible?

My kind apologies for posting many qs.
    Waiting for ur guidance.

:bowdown
    Thanks,
    Shalini

2. shalsraaj

shalsraaj Bronze IL'ite

Hi Ils,
    I m still looking for ur replies...

3. uma16

uma16 Senior IL'ite

hey shalini...
    i dont work -am on dependent l2 visa ,i dont think i can help u much anyways,answering only ur first

1) was in san jose ,CA a year back...pleasanton has a lot of good unfurnished apartments ,may be in range of $1000-1300. furnished apartments are rare may be if u look into craigslist u can get individual houses rented out by owners.that would be ur choice...we started from scratch and furnishing the aptmt was no big deal as we cud get cheap and good stuff from craigslist...for kitchen ikea suited me best.