1. How to Build Positivity in Married Life? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

Husband doesnt care

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by houstongirl, Jul 17, 2013.

1. houstongirl

houstongirl New IL'ite

Hello Ladies,

Here is my situation. I got married about 2 years ago and we are living in US. Been in love with my husband for over 8 years and we got married.
    Whenever we go out with friends or his family memebers, my husband totally ignores me. He acts as if i dont exist. We both are from different states so i'm not very good with his language. So i make mistakes when trying to interpret what others say. My husband either ignores me or makes fun of me. This treatment is just for me. For others he will explain the joke, repeat the joke etc etc. And whenever he is around with his family they act like a tightly knit circle, they have jokes of their own, laugh among themselves and i get left out.
    Now this may not be a serious problem you think. But we go on long trips (12 hrs) often with his family memebers. So all along i get subjected to this treatment. When i try not to contribute/ just silence myself from the crowd (which i did once), my husband comes to me and says, please dont fight with me in front of all. And even my dh and his bro and sis all start making more jokes on me, even when i'm around.

Now- i did have a discussion with him. He said ya he feels that he is ignoring me. He apologized also. But then next time he tried to include me in conversation he uses a very sarcastic tone, which makes every one laugh more at me. And its quite some time we had the discussion and now he is back to his own self. I did try to squeeze myself in the conversations and contribute, but no one will give a damn.. All they talk about are movies and gossip about other family members and friends. I never used to watch movies much but to make sure i dont get left out, i started watching like a movie a day.. But still i get left out.