How To Eat Healthy In Pregnancy

Discussion in 'Pregnancy & Labor' started by pinky2cute, Nov 27, 2017.

1. pinky2cute

pinky2cute Platinum IL'ite

Hi...
    This is my first preg... 9weeks now. I stay in a hostel. I'm a doctor studying my masters living far from my husband and parents.

Though as a doctor I know what to eat and what not in pregnancy... being in a hostel with bad food loaded eith cheap oil and masalas along with hectic work schedules in hospitl is making me feel tired all day and hungry for long periods without food.

I am busy with studies, thesis and work with exams nearby.
    Please suggest foods that i can have in this period without much efforts. I cant spend tym in cooking in hostel with limitrd resources.

Current diet -

Morning
    7am :milk with horlicks
    8.30am : bfast - either of these - idli/dosa/poori/pongal/upma

Afternoon
    1.30pm- lunch -Rice+ sambar + pickle + curd + banana (veggies are horrible with masalas n deep fried here that too 4days a week it will be potato so i avoid veg curries totally)

Evening
    5pm - tea with snacks -either biscuits/ veg puff / bread / sweet corn

7.30pm -bowl of cut fruits -3 varieties of fruits

Night
    9pm - dinner - either chapathi with veg gravy or i cook rava upma or poha followed by buttermilk.

11pm - a glass of warm milk.

I still feel m less on veggies and have no greens in my menu.... but being in hostel dunno how to manage this.

Any suggestions?

2. amunique

amunique Gold IL'ite

Dear .. please look at some alternatives i have written inline.. am sure you will be knowing more than me as a doctor.. just suggesting from whatever i know and in a friendly way :) since you say you stay at a hostel...
    here are the options when you feel hungry!
    Morning
    7am :milk with horlicks
    8.30am : bfast - either of these - idli/dosa/poori/pongal/upma
    --------try taking dry fruit ladoos in this gap---carry them in a box.
    Afternoon