How Do I Work This Out ?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by anika987, Sep 12, 2019.

1. anika987

anika987 IL Hall of Fame

Husband’s travel time to office is one hour and more..leaves by 7 and comes home by 10 or even late most of the days.

Kid is first grade - 9 am and reaches home by 4 pm.

I was an admin/clerical job and the maximum I got paid was $14 before I had to leave and that was 8 years back.

school has half days and kid has three classes around 6 pm for which I have to start by 5.30 pm three days a week

I am actively looking for a job and only one is there which starts by 8.30 to 5 pm

Hubby cannot help me around the home coz of his timings and I have to deal with home,kids classes and be there during her half days in school and if am working ..work too.

Hubby asks me to either wait it out and look part time and closer to home.Its not that easy to find anything with these critieria.

Salary also is $10 per hour for 8.30 to 5 with atleast 30 minutes drive am getting.

I don’t know if I should accept the job and if it is worth it..

I understand if you are getting paid quite a decent amount,one can put in hours of hardwork and can also do some work at home.Though stressful the money you get in hand would be emotionally fulfilling.

In my situation,with no help at home or with kid and so many hours of work with such less salary,travel time..feeling unsure

Is there anyone in my situation and how do you work this??

2. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

You will have to do aftercare for your child and either rush back or hire someone to take her to classes. I would personally not work for that salary but you have to decide if it's worth it for you. Will it lead to a higher-paying job in future?

Angela123 and anika987 like this.
  3. anika987

anika987 IL Hall of Fame

i have no idea malstrom..

right now am desperate coz people are asking me "Oh! your kid is growing up..time to get back to workforce"..