HE - Episode 12

Discussion in 'HE - Serial Story' started by varalotti, Jan 25, 2008.

1. varalotti

HE

A Serial By Varalotti Rengasamy

Episode 12

Timeline A

Madhavan and Priya were now fully entangled in the web of deception.

In a war between good and evil, good always wins, but only ultimately. It loses a lot of battles before it can claim its final victory over evil.

A war is a war and so there are always some casualties on the side of good as well.

Now this battle was won by evil. The Vulture. And it was too early to reckon the casualties.

Acting on the Vulture’s words, Priya had told Madhavan that she was suffering from some kind of depression and that she had already fixed up an appointment with Dr. Shankar, a psychiatrist. And that she would be grateful if Madhavan could come along with her.

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 13, 2010

2. varalotti

Part 2!

The appointment was on Friday evening. There were four characters who were concerned with this appointment and each in his or her or its own way.

First, Priya. She naively thought that she could tell the truth when they were in the clinic and somehow convince Madhavan to go for a full-course treatment and psychoanalysis. He was going to be fine and they would start their second innings in life with renewed vigour.

Second, Madhavan. He was now really concerned over his wife’s health. He forgot all the warnings given by Kalpana, the lady lawyer. The business, the risks, the mergers, and the vulture of a lawyer - everything else can wait.

When Priya was ill, nothing in the world was important for him. He would tell the Doctor about Priya. About how soft she was and how loving she had been.

Madhavan would insist that the treatment had to be tender and at no point of time, Priya should be roughed up. Priya was going to be fine after the treatment.

After that there was going to be nothing but happiness in their lives. May be they could even start planning for a family.

Third, the Vulture. He had his own grand plans for the meeting. For him the meeting was the climax. He wanted to eject Madhavan out of Priya’s life immediately and out of this world, eventually.

While Priya was interested in swallowing Creative Ads, the Vulture would silently gobble up Ad India and Priya along with that.

Fourth and the most important, Destiny. It had left the scene long back and was still acting from afar. It was now planning to return to the scene and was waiting for the opportune moment.

Destiny was the only character that knew what the other three thought. And it also knew that only its plan was going to succeed.

Many people crushed by the hands of Destiny mistakenly equate it with the Devil. Destiny always sided with the good. But it was constantly in movement between good and evil. And it was these movements that made life interesting and worth living.

Destiny always followed a pattern. First it would make some false movements towards the side of evil and then slowly, gradually would move over to goodness.

The false movements favouring the side of evil would always be swift and sudden. But they would not last long. The return to good would be slow and gradual. And here Destiny’s effects would last till eternity. And in the case of Madhavan and Priya, Destiny had started moving towards their side.

For the first time since Destiny raised its ugly head in the lives of Priya and Madhavan, it moved slightly away from the side of the Vulture giving him the first ever setback in his satanic career.

3. varalotti

Part 3!

The Vulture had given the name of the Psychiatrist and his contact number to Priya. He knew very well that people would always hesitate to verify the credentials of a psychiatrist.

Because when a person asks about some psychiatrist the other person would immediately infer that either the enquirer or someone close to her had some mental health problem.

In India visiting a psychiatrist always carried a stigma. Whether a person visited for an endogenic depression or an erectile dysfunction, his circle of friends and relatives would consider him only as a schizophrenic fit to be chained.

Priya was grateful to the Vulture that he had spared her the trouble of finding out a good, reliable psychiatrist for Madhavan. She could never imagine that the whole thing was set up by the Vulture to trap Madhavan.

As usual the Vulture had done his homework exceedingly well. He found out that there was a real psychiatrist by name Dr. Shankar in Chennai. Even if Priya were to enquire about him, she would get only good references.

Then he hired the premises of a small private clinic for a week. He made his own man sit in as a psychiatrist there.

On the day of appointment the Vulture visited the clinic and gave his final touches to the diabolic plan.

4. varalotti

Part 4!

Around 5:15 on Friday evening Madhavan walked over to Priya’s office. He gently knocked the door before walking in.

“Honey, it’s time. You said that the appointment is at six. The traffic is going to be heavy. Let’s not be late for the appointment.”

Priya saw Madhavan’s face. He did not look like a loving husband but a concerned parent now. Priya was moved by his act of kindness. How could this kind soul have plotted against her, or for that matter, against any other human being?

How this loving man could ever think of having an affair and that too with a middle aged woman? Could she ask him on his face about all those things? But then she remembered the Vulture’s words. The Vulture had said that during lucid intervals manic depressives would be exceedingly kind.

She saw the innocent face of Madhavan. He should have been really concerned over her health. He had not shaved for the last two days. Priya had never seen Madhavan like this.

“Madhavan, my dearest, we are going to see the psychiatrist only for you. I lied. It’s not for me. You are sick. And you don’t know that.”

Priya wanted to shout those words. But at the last minute she decided against that. Now she wanted to delay the ordeal by another two days. She had already talked to Madhavan’s Executive Assistant.

“Darling, if you are busy today, I’ll have the appointment postponed to Monday. Your EA told me that Cognizant wanted a meeting with you this evening to discuss their recruitment ads.”

“I can’t care less, Priya. Cognizant even threatened that if there is no meeting today they’d cancel the contract. I told them to go to hell in sweet words.

“Please Priya, please understand me. Even if I lose all the clients, even if I lose Ad India and every thing I have, I am still a winner so long as you are with me. So let’s get the whole thing finished early and put it behind us, Priya. We have a long, sweet life ahead of us.”

Priya could not bear that kind of love. She burst into tears. She was crying because she did not have the heart to betray Madhavan, even though it was for his own good.

Madhavan thought that she was crying because she was afraid of her own illness.

He came near her and placed his hands on her shoulder. He turned her face to his side.

“Don’t worry, dear. Whatever happens I’ll be with you. If the Doctor tells you that you can’t work any more, I’ll also stop working. I’ll sell the company and invest the money in mutual funds. We can live on that income. I’ll be with you all day. So don’t worry. Let’s go now.”

Priya ran up to him, buried her face in his broad chest and started sobbing uncontrollably.

5. varalotti

Part 5!

After ten minutes Madhavan and Priya walked out of their office hand in hand. As usual the black Benz and the golden Honda Accord were ready with their engines running and with their drivers respectfully waiting for Madhavan’s choice.

Madhavan chose the Benz. He was about to get into the rear seat, when he suddenly thought of something.

“I’ll drive. Priya, please come here.”

He did not want the driver to know that they were going to a psychiatrist. He wanted to protect his wife’s name and reputation.

During the thirty-minute drive to the psychiatrist’s clinic in Adyar, they did not speak a word.

6. varalotti

Part 6!

They entered the posh clinic located in the Third Main Road, Gandhi Nagar. Priya was gripping Madhavan’s hand. Madhavan’s grip was quite reassuring for her.

As soon as Priya gave the particulars they were ushered into a large consulting room. A man in white coat and French beard welcomed them. Madhavan and Priya assumed that the person was Dr.Shankar.

The first few minutes were spent in exchanging courtesies. Suddenly from out of the blue, the Doctor turned to Madhavan and asked,

“Mr.Madhavan, when did you first notice the problem?”

“Me? I didn’t notice anything. She appears perfect for me. She thinks that she is depressed, Doctor. If you can examine and tell her it is not so, I will be grateful to you.”

The ‘Doctor’ let out a condescending smile.

“Yes, Mr.Madhavan, she is perfect. No doubt about it. I am asking about YOUR problem.”
    >
    “MY PROBLEM? WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU TALKING?”

The Vulture had trained the right person to play the Doctor’s role. He was infuriating Madhavan in a scientific manner.

“PRIYA, WHAT THE HELL IS HE TALKING? I THINK THIS GUY IS NUTS.”

Priya was looking down.

“Mr.Madhavan, Priya called up ahead and told me that you are sick. Very sick. She even warned me that you could be violent. I gave this idea to her.

“I told her to tell you that she was sick and wanted your help. That way it was easy to bring you here. See my idea worked, isn’t it Priya?”

“YOU IDIOT, WHAT BULL**** ARE YOU TALKING? I’M GOING TO CALL THE POLICE, RIGHTAWAY. YOU ARE NO SHRINK.”

“I’m sorry Madhavan. I thought we could do it without force. I am sorry, Mrs. Priya.”
    The ‘Doctor’ pressed a button. Three burly men in white and white rushed into the room and they lifted off Madhavan from his seat.

Priya was looking down all along. For the first time she lifted her head to see Madhavan’s face.

Madhavan was struggling to get himself free from the clutches of the goondas. And he saw Priya.

He thought that Priya had betrayed him. Priya had let him down in a very cruel way. He had been ready to forego everything – his career, his company, his wealth everything – for Priya.

Now with Priya betraying him, he lost all interest to live. He ceased to struggle. And saw Priya for one last time with his penetrating eyes.

His eyes were pleading with her.

“My dearest, what crime did I do other than loving you with all my heart? I did not listen to the lawyer who warned me against you. When you told me that you were depressed, I melted.

“I forgot all the warnings, threw caution to the winds and just came along with you. And now dear, see where I am? Will I be able to love another person in my life? Does this make you happy? Then enjoy yourself dear. Good bye.”

These words were not spoken but communicated. The communication channels did not involve Madhavan’s mouth or Priya’s ears.

Fifteen seconds of that penetrating look was enough to unsettle Priya’s mind for ever. She lost her mind then and there. The look of shock never left her face thereafter.

7. varalotti

Part 7!

Madhavan was taken to another room. While the goondas were holding him, a nurse injected a powerful sedative. Madhavan fell asleep. Then he was taken to a Qualis vehicle parked near the back gate of the clinic.

The third row of seats had been removed. Madhavan was placed there. And the back door of the vehicle was secured. There was no access to the front row of seats from his place.

As soon as the Vulture received news about the success of the operation he called Priya on her mobile. It was ringing. But Priya was not aware of that. She was not aware of anything around her.

For her time was frozen at the moment when Madhavan was taken out of that room. The moment she met Madhavan’s glance was the last lucid moment she had in her life. She was frozen at that point of time perfectly oblivious of the world thereafter.

The Vulture then called the ‘Doctor’ to know about Priya.

“Boss, he is sedated is being taken away. She has lost her mind. She can’t do anything. What shall I do with her? Shall I finish her too?”

“****. Don’t do that. We may require her signature or something later. Take her to <st1:City><st1:place>Bangalore</st1:place></st1:City> and admit her in NIMHANS under a false name. We’ll take care of her later. But finish off that man.”

“Yes, boss.”

“Did you remember to take his car keys from his pocket?”

“Yes, Boss.”

“Raj will come there in another hour with two dead bodies. Place the bodies in the car and drive it to the outskirts of the city. We’ll stage an accident with an oil-tanker and tell the world that Madhavan and Priya died in that accident.”

“Yes Boss.”

The next day’s papers carried the news and pictures of the tragic accident that killed Madhavan and Priya.

It was a gruesome accident and the black Benz had been burning for a while. The police and the people presumed that the charred remains in the car were that of Madhavan and Priya.

8. varalotti

Part 8!

The Qualis was being driven to some unknown Southern destination. Madhavan was slowly regaining consciousness.

Destiny now fully moved over to the side of good. It abandoned the Vulture and started extending a helping hand to Madhvan. After all it was not the Devil.

The Vulture had given orders to kill Madhavan immediately. But his goons had other plans. They had struck a deal with an unscrupulous hospital in Trivandrum.

The hospital was trafficking in human organs. It had promised several lakhs to the goons if they could bring anybody alive to their hospital, with all the organs intact. The goons were driving like mad to Trivandrum to deliver the prize and collect the prize-money.

At times even evil has got a role to play in defending the good. It was the goons’ greed, the hospital’s inhuman approach that saved Madhavan’s life that day.

After 17 hours of travel with some breaks in between the Qualis stopped somewhere in the middle of nothing.

Madhavan was fully awake now. He heard some sounds from the front. He sharpened his ears.

“My God! We have a flat tyre. We don’t even have a spare tyre. What to do?”

“We still have a lot of time. Let’s relax for a while. I have stashed some Scotch in my bag. Let’s have a small party.”

“But the tyre?”

“I can see a small shop there. Should be a road-side vulcansing shop. We will have our party there. We’ll ask the man to fix the flat tyre.”

“What if the guy wakes up, when we are there?”

“No way. He has been given a triple dose of morphine. He wont be conscious for another whole day. In fact we would have trouble reviving him at Trivandrum."

“Where are we now?”

“I think we should be somewhere near Kovalam. I can hear the sea. Which means we’ll reach Trivandrum in another forty five minutes.”

“Come, let’s go. Don’t forget to down the shutters and lock up the vehicle.”

After a while Madhavan did not hear any sound. It was pitch dark outside. He presumed that the men should have left for the shop.

Anaesthesia is a speciality where man’s knowledge is far from complete. The field is concerned with the human central nervous system which even now is not fully understood.

In any major surgery the anaesthetist plays an even more crucial role than the surgeon. Keeping the patient unconscious for the right length of time and then reviving him thereafter is more of an art form than medicine.

We know very well what substances should be given to put a man to sleep and what should be given to bring him back to consciousness. But how long will the sedation last is still a matter of wild guess even by the super-specialists.

With the kind of dosage given to Madhavan he should not have come back to his senses for another two days. But he was fully alert now.

Those who believed in the science of anaesthesia would mumble, “You can never be sure.” And those who believed in Destiny would praise its skilful handiwork.

9. varalotti

Part 9!

Madhavan knew that he was locked in. If he attempted anything now he would draw attention and that would kill all chances of escape.

But for a gruelling head-ache and an inexplicable heaviness in his head, he was wide awake and extremely alert. He slowly sat down. The darkness was absolute and he could not see a thing.

He tried to feel with his hands. After groping for a few minutes he found a long iron rod which was bent at one end. It should be the jockey lever, he assumed. Whatever it was he now had a lethal weapon in his hand.

He was now waiting for the right time. He spent the longest five minutes of his life before he heard the sound of a lock being opened.

The repair man should have come. Madhavan knew that in a few seconds he was likely switch on some light. Either a torch light or the lights inside the vehicle. And he should act before that.

He was now ready to act. He held the iron rod firmly in his hand and when he saw the back door open, he swung it with all his force.

Destiny had now returned to the scene with a totally different mission: to help Madhvan come out of the mess, it had created earlier. Destiny sat on the iron rod and saw to it that it hit the head of the repair-man with such a force that he did not even have the time to scream. He fell down.

Madhavan jumped out of the vehicle. His feet touched the cold asphalt. He slowly walked away from the vehicle. He heard the sound of the sea and was going towards that sound.

The goondas were enjoying the Scotch blissfully unaware of the fact that their captive had escaped unhurt.

So long as Madhavan felt the need to escape from those villains he was alert and had the desire to live. But now alone in the midst of nothing, walking towards some unknown sea, remembering Priya’s betrayal, reliving the scene in the Psychiatrit’s clinic, he suddenly wanted to end his life.

He was ready to sacrifice everything for Priya. But Priya had clearly ditched him. If only Priya had been quite upfront about the visit, if only she had told him that she suspected him being depressed, he would have happily agreed to go with her.

Only now Kalpana’s words started ringing in his ears. Did Priya have an affair with that take-over lawyer? Did they both plan this treacherous act together? My God!

For a few moments he felt like Mrs.Indra Gandhi during the last few moments of her life. What kind of shock she would have felt when her own guards, who had sworn to give their lives to protect hers, opened fire on her?

That was the ultimate betrayal. And so was Priya’s.

‘It could have been better if they had killed me’, Madhavan thought. What was the point in living now?

Madhavan now felt the beach sand under his feet. He now walked towards the sea with determination.

Destiny was now skilfully moving the coins in that complicated game of chess.

With the kind of powers it had, it had already divined Madhavan’s suicidal thoughts.

It did not want Madhavan to die. It had already put a person in place to protect him.

10. Arunarc

Hello Varalotti
    Sorry for putting the post in between. Have asked Kamal to do the needful to me??
    Hope it gets removed.bonkbonkwas so excited to see it before time and so posted the reply unknowingly.
    This was like the bollywood kidnapping. hero and heroine kidnapped and all the later things like escaping and all hope something interesting about this pair next time.

Thanks for deleting it

Last edited: Jan 25, 2008