1. Handy Kitchen Tips that You cannot Miss : Solutions for all your Problems
    Dismiss Notice

Growing Indian plants in USA - northeast coast

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by jerseygirl, Jun 19, 2011.

1. jerseygirl

jerseygirl New IL'ite

Hi All,

I am new to gardening and live in the cold north east of USA. I would love to grow typical indian vegetables, herbs etc at home. In pots or ground. Please suggest which ones are good to grow ...we have four seasons - spring, summer, fall , winter ( 4 months of snow and -10C weather).

Looking forward to hearing about this.:thumbsup:thumbsup

2. MythiliMurali

MythiliMurali Bronze IL'ite

You can grow all veggies in the ground in summer.But it is little late you may get only one/two crops. If you want some plants to produce all year round like dwarf drumstick, curry leaf plant, jasmines,... you have to plant them in pots & bring them inside in winters.
    If you start sowing seeds indoors it will speed up the germination process. Here is the information that IL's posted & the ones that I learned from Google:
    1--->Seeds sprout fast if they are maintained: 75-80F temperature,dark,wet(not watery). Some seeds have harder shell like coriander, karela, breaking the shell helps to speed up the process.
    2--->Methi Leaves : soak the methi seeds in wet paper towel & keep it moist all the time. You will get sprouts which are nothing but roots. Throw them on the soil & cover it with thin layer of soil. They grow very fast. Same with sugar snap peas/peas/Lima beans.
    3--->Mint : get a fresh bunch from store & use all leaves & place the stems in a cup with water filled in it. Change the water for every one or two days. You will see tiny roots developing with in 3-4 days. Then transfer in to the soil.
    4--->Coriander or Dhaniya : Crush them to split into half & then sow directly in the ground.
    5--->Sorrel Leaves(Gongura): Use the leaves & plant the stems in a well fertile & well drained soil.