Grave Yard Shifts – What do u think?

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by prathi, Feb 10, 2006.

1. prathi

prathi Bronze IL'ite

Many of you might be working in night shifts for BPO’s, call centres and hospitals. Just like a coin has two faces, a night shift job has its Pros and Cons. I have tried to briefly summarise some of them which seemed very obvious to me. Read on....

Grave Yard Shifts

Most of the call centres, BPOs are cateriing to western countires and countries like Australia. The shifts run through out the night or at least a part of the night. They are the grave yard shifts. People are leaving their houmes to work at 12 or 2 in the night or returning in the mid of the night. This is an extremely testing experience, especially for women who have to balance between home and office.

“I have got used to the night shift. I have been working like this for three years now.” Says Geetha, a married woman, who works as a finance executive for a well-known BPO in Bangalore.

There are thousands of people like her around India (many other countries too), who have, as they say, got “used” to these graveyard shifts.

The high remuneration is the sole bait used by the BPO’s to lure people to work while the whole country is slumbering. (Apart from their colleagues and counterparts, of course!!!).

“Why not?” Say many of them.
    If giving up just a good night’s sleep puts their and their family’s life style on a pedestal, then why not?

Consumer goods which were classified as luxury have entered the comfort zone and the comfort goods have turned out to be necessities- Thanks to the venture of these call centres and BPO’s and consequential high CTC’s. This has also resulted in a growth in the GDP (Gross Domestic Product) and a significant boost to the nation's economy.