Good bookstores in Delhi

Discussion in 'Shopping/Restaurants in Delhi' started by Shabnam88, Feb 16, 2010.

1. rawuthlett

rawuthlett New IL'ite

just to add to the suggestions, I would recommend the "round bookshop" (not its name, but its shape!) on Janpath. The guy there always gave a 20% discount without my asking

2. anandisingh

anandisingh Senior IL'ite

The Jain Book Agency is a favourite among law students. My granny said it was opened in the beginning of 1935 by late Lala Shanti Pershad Jain. This shop at Connaught Place caters to the need of the entire segment of lawyers, corporate houses and businessmen. Back in 1935, according to me Granny, Connaught Place was a remote area. It was built and developed by the British. Today, as we all know, Connaught Place stands amongst one of the top ten market places in Asia.

Presently, JBA (Jain Book Agency) publishes, markets and sells books in the areas of Indian Law, economics, international trade, current affairs, politics, business, education, service laws, company laws, business directories, commercial publications and publications concerning Indian Railways.

3. JayaRawat

JayaRawat Senior IL'ite

Jain Book Agency operates in India and abroad through their network of showrooms in Delhi & NCR, mail-order business and a user-friendly website which not only has a database of more than 50.000 books, but also is a convenient shopping portal. Books can be purchased online, through credit cards, DDs, net banking facilities and VPP (cash on delivery) basis.

JBA happens to be the oldest and the single largest agent for Government and various other institutional publications. JBA has a long list of respectful patrons and customers which includes the elite section of the society. JBA is also the first authorized printer and marketer of the official passport, taxation and other legal forms of the Indian Government.

4. anandisingh

Last week I accompanied my niece to the Bundaniya Book Shop in Rohini. We spent half an hour there, as my niece purchased text books according to the book list provided to her by her school. I was very impressed with the stock and the manner in which the shopkeeper handled the customers.
    The address of this shop is D-12/150, Shop No. 4, Sector 7, Rohini, Delhi – 110085. It is near Sai Baba Mandir. The contact person happens to be Mr. O.P. Khyaliya. His contact number is 09910132308.
    We were told that the shop remains open from Tuesday to Sunday.

5. JayaRawat

JayaRawat Senior IL'ite

I remember Bundaniya. It is a good book shop for text books. The best thing about this place is that it remains open for long hours from 9 am to 9 pm.

I am reminded of another book shop is Rohini. It is the Gulati Book Depot. The address is etched in my memory as I still have many wrappers that this shop had once given me with the books I had purchased. It is Shop No. 49, Pocket 6, Sector 2, Rohini, Delhi – 110085. It is near Dada Bari Jain Mandir.

Are any of you familiar with this place??

:coffee

6. MadhujaJ

MadhujaJ Senior IL'ite

Here is a list of some book shops in and around Kalkaji.

Nanda Book Service
    Address:
    Raja House
    Shop #G 1
    Nehru Place
    Kalkaji
    Delhi -110019
    Contact Person: Gurdeep Raj

Piccadilly Book Shop
    Address:
    Miza Galib Street
    Kalkaji
    Delhi -110019

Landmark:Near police station

Maya Book Depot
    Address:
    #J 2/12A
    D.D.A. Flat
    Kalkaji
    Delhi -110019

Landmark:Near D.D.A. Flats

Books Intnational
    Address:
    #A 273
    Govindpuri Extension
    Kalkaji
    Delhi -110019

Landmark:Near Sanjay Gandhi Hospital

Flacon Books Private Limited
    Address:
    #91, Bhandari House
    Shop #B-2
    Nehru Place
    Kalkaji
    Delhi -110019

Phone:011-26432653

Classic Bookmans Private Limited
    Address:
    #1698/
    Chittaranjan Park
    Kalkaji
    Delhi -110019

Landmark:Near Raisina Bengali School

7. amritasharma

amritasharma Senior IL'ite

Some other book shops in and around Kalkaji are:

Gulmarg
    Address:
    #A 7
    Alkananda Shopping Company
    Kalkaji
    Delhi -110019
    Landmark:Near Andra Bank
    Phone:011-26471249

A.C.E. Computers
    Address:
    #103B/57
    Nehru Place
    Kalkaji
    Delhi -110019

Landmark:Near State Bank Of India

Technip Books International
    Address:
    #4/12
    Kalkaji
    Delhi -110019

Phone:011-26284791

Technobooks.com
    Address:
    #56, Eros Apartments
    Shop #G 8 C E, 4/12, Ground Floor
    Nehru Market, Kalkaji Extension
    Kalkaji
    Delhi -110019

Phone:011-51606573, 011-26281273, 011-26284790

Mobile:9810510602

Contact Person:Gaurav Parwanda

Wheel Publication
    Address:
    #A 479
    Kalkaji
    Delhi -110019

Phone:011-26418436

A book shop worth mentioning in the Greater Kailash area is the
    Bansal Book Store in Greater Kailash II
    Address:
    Guru Nanak Market
    Greater Kailash II
    Delhi -110048

Landmark:Near Guru Nanak Senior Secondary School

Phone:011-26473526
    :thumbsup

8. JayaRawat

JayaRawat Senior IL'ite

Let me share with you the names and contact details of some book shops in Safdarjung Enclave:

Big Book Shop
    Address:
    #84, Shanti Niwas
    Arjun Nagar
    Safdarjung Enclave
    Delhi -110029

Contact Person:Anuj Kumar

Anurag Book Depot
    Address:
    Shop #9
    Central Market
    Safdarjung Enclave
    Delhi -110029
    Landmark:Behind Green Field School

Contact Person:B.K. Bansal
    Business Days:
    Tuesday - Sunday
    Payment Mode:
    Cash & Credit Card
    Shop Timings:
    10:30 am - 8:30 pm
    Types of Books:
    NCRT & CBSE School Books

P.G.T. Books International
    Address:
    #270F
    Arjun Nagar
    Safdarjung Enclave
    Delhi -110029

Landmark:Near Bhartiya Vidhya Bhawan

Dang Stationers & Book Sellers
    Address:
    Central Market
    Safdarjung Enclave
    Delhi -110029

Phone:011-26174840
    Mobile:9213177177
    Contact Person:S.K. Dang
    Shop Timings:
    9:30 am - 9:00 pm
    Types of Books:
    School Books

9. anandisingh

My office being at the Okhla Industrial Estate, I frequent some book shops of the area.

Some of them are:

i) EDB Book Café - The contact numbers are 011- 65669442 and 011- 26137283. The address is # 15 Escorts Hospital, Okhla, Delhi – 110070. It is near Jamia University. It has a good stock of fiction, non-fiction, children’s books, periodicals and magazines. The non-fiction genre mainly includes management and academic books.

ii) Janta Book Depot – The address is Z - 60, Okhla Industrial Area, Phase 2, Delhi – 110020. It is near the Petrol Pump.
    It sells fiction, non-fiction and text books. This is an old store operating for more than fifty years.

10. anandisingh

These are few bookshops that I visit when I go to the G.P.O. area. They also have stocks of used books.

Creative Publication
    Address:
    Main Road, Nai Sarak
    Delhi G.P.O.
    Delhi -110006

Landmark:Near Police Chowki

A One
    Address:
    #1680/7
    Ground Floor
    Mehta Market, Nai Sarak
    Delhi G.P.O.
    Delhi -110006

Phone:011-23286623

All India Book House
    Address:
    #892 - 93
    Nai Sarak, Rajiv
    Delhi G.P.O.
    Delhi -110006

Landmark: Near Chandini Chowk

Phone:011-23267481

Mobile:9811018417
    It remains open from Monday to Saturday, from 12 noon to 5 pm. It sells Medical and Computer books.

Aadesh Book Depot
    Address:
    Wali Nai Market
    Delhi G.P.O.
    Delhi -110006
    This place is famous for its huge stock of dictionaries.