1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

For all unhappy women - how to be happy in spite of everything - Step 5

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by winpie, Dec 9, 2011.

1. winpie

winpie Silver IL'ite

Gaining Speed

In this series of do-it-yourself happiness quest, this is step 5. Step 1 was Discovery, Step 2 the Importance, Step 3 the Dive into the meaning and need for happiness and Step 4 the beginning of the journey. Having begun the quest, it is time now to do it better and faster.

The small something that I identified after step 4, turned out, surprisingly, to be something I had always wanted to do, but had never found time for. I had always wanted to be able to play the keyboard - maybe not at a professional level, but well enough to play for my friends at a gathering. So I started playing a song on the computer and trying to play it on the keyboard.

It was a frustrating exercise - I was about 47 years of age and my fingers were pretty stiff. Without formal training, learning the correct technique was a struggle. I needed a week to master one line or rhythm cycle - a very slow process indeed. I spend a couple of hours practicing everyday but never reached my goal of playing well enough to play for my friends. But each note I played - well or badly, it just didn't matter - lifted me up. It made me happy - even on days when I could not find the time to practice. The memory still lifts me two years down the line.