Exchange Of Professions

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by jayasala42, Nov 14, 2019.

1. jayasala42

Two years back my brother-in-law aged 80 had to undergo a surgery in his brain in a famous Corporate hospital in Chennai. His walking was very much unsteady.He could not lift his foot from the floor. He felt as if it was a magnet fixing his foot to the floor. He had to just pull his feet and drag them with great difficulty while walking.All ortho, neuro anf skin specialists were consulted in India as well as USA. He is a Green card holder.

At last a neuro surgeon in Chennai,on close examination of MRI etc scans found out that there is excess accumulation of fluid in the brain more than the stipulated quantity that is needed for the brain functioning. In all human beings, excess fluid is secreted but it is drained through a canal attached to the food pipe from the brain. They had so many instruments to measure the exact volume of fluid needed and exact volume to be released into alimentary canal to be excavated through excretion.We were very much impressed by the doctor's step by step explanation with a human body model , with open brain etc etc. After observing for for five days, operation was done without anaesthesia and it lasted for less than half an hour.

When the doctor came out of the theatre he used many expressions such as drainage, clogging, attachment of extra outlet pipe etc etc all pertaining to plumbing profession. No doubt the nature has gifted us with a built in pucca drainage system.

Even after two years, not an inch of improvement is seen.The same unsteady walk and some choking sense in the throat. For one or two months doctor was saying that it is post operative influence. Now he does not know what to say. Now he says that the drainage system he has repaired is functioning pucca and perhaps the unsteadiness in walking may not be due to excess fluid accumulation as he thought,but may be due to other reasons like ageing and malfunctioning of neuro mechanism and suggests another surgery for which the patient is not prepared.If he is not sure of improvement, why should he compulsively convince us into this venture making us spend nearly rupees three lakhs?

Recently I read two instances, perhaps jokes.

DIFFERENCE BETWEEN

HEART SURGEON & CAR MECHANIC

A famous Heart Surgeon came to the garage for his car to be repaired. The mechanic while removing the cylinder heads from the car and attending the engine he raised voice and sardonically asked the doctor “Hello Doctor look at this. I also open heart of the car , take valves out, grind them, put in new parts, and when I finish this will work as a new one. So how come you get the big money, when you and me are doing basically the same work?”

The doctor leaned over and whispered to the mechanic.

Try to do it when the engine is Running.

Now on to the story of a Neurologist who had plumbing problem at his house.
    Naturally he sought the services of a plumber.
    The plumber arrived in a Rolls Royce had a Rolex watch and dressed not in his
    work clothes but in expensive clothes.
    Then of course he attended to the problem and the Neurologist was in shock
    when it was time to settle the bill;
    and asked the plumber how come he charge so much when he as a Neurologist
    he is paid less.
    The Plumber smiled and told that he used to be a Neurologist too to start with.
    My brother-in-law actually started having doubts regarding the identity of the surgeon and became more tense.Having retired as the CMD of a top ranking institution ,he shouted at the doctor and hospital administrators.We had to pacify him and bring him out.

Exchange of profession is a common feature now adays. All scientists, arts ,Technical and medicos become MBAs and start practising as consultants.

Many certificates issued by Chartererd Accountants earlier now have to be validated by legal professionals. Many CAs at the age of 50 are enrolling into Part time legal degrees.Many Universities offer a combined degree of Legal Studies and Accountancy for five and half years making them eligible to practise as lawyer cum CA.

Everywhere there is a consultancy Board for all the fields .In some fields it is called counselling and in other fields it is consultant.Right from pregnancy related matters, child birth, rearing children, education,finance, marriage, marital harmony and disharmony, business venture, plantation and agriculture, cattle breeding etc etc.The list is endless.It includes Yoga and spiritual consultants to make one land at the door of enlightenment.

Our grandmas who have not stepped into any school, were perhaps better consultants in all matters

In the present world fake identities we are not sure whether the neuro surgeon under question has got any plans to become 'a drain brain ' one day
    turn out to be a 'Drain Man' like metro man ,in the event of his successive failures in surgery!

jayasala 42

sindmani, Amulet and nakshatra1 like this.

2. HariLakhera

HariLakhera Platinum IL'ite

It reminds me of a practical joke. The machine stopped working. The expert mechanic was called. He took time to inspect the machine from all possible angles. Finally he just tightened a bolt and bravo!!!! The machine started working.
    After two days, the company received a bill for Rs.1000. The manager was surprised to receive such hefty bill for tightening a bolt. He asked the mechanic to give a breakup of the charges.
    In reply he got it as under:
    Cost of tightening the bolt.......Rs. 1
    Cost of finding out which bolt to be tightened.....Rs.999.
    Doctors also depend on symptoms and test reports. On top of that they have targets to earn for the organisation they work.
    All unsuccessful managers turn into consultants, as the joke goes.

3. jayasala42

Thank you Shri Harilakhera for your response.The labour charges are very much on the high side these days.

The cost of cloth for Shirt,Pant,Blouse etc., are less BUT the cost of Stiching charge is more.
    The cost of materials for building construction, repairs etc., are less BUT Labour charge is more.
    The cost of engaging OLA/Fast Track etc., is less BUT expenses for petrol for own vehicle, driver's salary, maintenance of the vehicle etc., are more.
    The cost of printing the hard copies in computer centre from PC is less BUT purchasing of ink cartridge for printer is more.
    So there is every possibility of exchange of professions from white collar to labour and vice versa.
    While constructing a building nearly 18 to 20% goes towards plumbing.
    jayasala 42

sindmani and HariLakhera like this.
  4. Viswamitra

Viswamitra IL Hall of Fame

Dear Smt. Jayasala:

The car mechanics are at a premium here in the US because of the population of cars. Every time we take the car for servicing, we realize the parts are probably 40% to 50% when compared to the labor charges. But when we think of how much we depend on their expertise to save our lives, it is worth spending that money.

Here in the US, every profession requires licensing and no one can become an electrician or car mechanic by experience but only through licensing and education.

Since the formation of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India in 1949, that profession is regulated by an autonomous body with disciplinary actions taken against those who have given opinions of the financial statements contrary to the accounting principles. But still individuals take risks until they are caught. This professional body doesn't allow anyone else without this qualification to certify financial statements as a Chartered Accountant. Only time they allowed others such as lawyers to be admitted as a Member was when they started the Institute in 1949.

5. jayasala42

Thank you Viswa.My write up was based on the personal experience of a Chartered Accountant, who had to seek the help of a lawyer for countersigning by paying professional charges.So he did part time BGL in Madras University to avoid giving professional charges to a lawyer.I have no other details as to what type of cases the auditor was dealing with.

From your response,now I feel that Chartered Accountant might have acted as commission agent as manager of real estates and Trusts ,Probating the Will etc, which really need lawyer's certification.
    Even SBI in its official capacity is managing the estate ( renting out, collecting rent, sale and purchase of properties by giving advertisements etc) and charges 5-7.5% commission.) They take up big ventures who earn about more than 5 crores income per year.
    Our neighbour , Chief Nursing Superintendent, was staying all alone in an individual house.She was deserted by her husband, had no children. Left a Will saying that her self earnedhouse may be sold and sale proceeds thereof to be distributed among six charitable institutions.She appointed an auditor as exexcutor of the Will, mentioning the percentage of charges to be paid to him in the Will itself.On her death, the CA took charge, made arrangements to probate the Will in the High Court, distributed the proceeds as per Will. I helped in drafting the Will,and observed the entire process personally till the amts reached the Charity trusts after verifying whether the noted Trusts were legally empowered to receive the amt as per court order.
    I don't know whether CAs are entitled to take up such work in their official capacity.
    Sorry if I have given a wrong picture.
    jayasala 42

Viswamitra likes this.
  6. Viswamitra

Viswamitra IL Hall of Fame

Dear Smt. Jayasala:

You haven't given a wrong picture and just expressed your experience with a particular CA. The CA's generally get involved in providing financial advice, accounting certification, audits and internal audits, direct taxes advisory, indirect taxes advisory, etc. in general. Because he was appointed as executor of the will, he might have played the role but legal documents and filing with the court still will have to be certified by an attorney, in my view.

Earlier, there were only a handful of CAs in India and now there are many, compete with each other and hence may get into new areas of consulting. However, the regulations guide the CAs and the Disciplinary Committee reviews every complaint received from common public. They have General Council, Regional Councils, etc. to govern and regulate the CAs and the students. The Government of India appoints a person to sit on the General Council to make sure no group of people are taking the Institute in different direction. It is an autonomous body self-regulating but government of India supervises it through this Council Member. The rest of the council members are elected by the members of the Institute.

7. jayasala42

Thank you Viswa for the elaborate clarifications. My son -in-law is a CA from Bangalore but works for a
    Holland based firm in Singapore for the past 30 years.He has also done CPA Singapore and CPA Australia.
    But sure,I can't get such elaborate details as from Viswa.
    I heard that getting CPA in other countries is not so difficult as in India where the percentage of passes is just 5% or so.

Thank you Viswa, If I need any clarification, I hope to get the guidance from you.

jayasala42

Viswamitra likes this.