1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

Deducting Medical Expenses For Tax

Discussion in 'General Discussions - USA & Canada' started by jillcastle, Jan 3, 2017.

1. jillcastle

jillcastle Gold IL'ite

Hi all,

I know it is realy early to start talking about tax filing. But I have already started sorting out all documents needed to file tax. Last year I used the standard deduction, but this time thanks to my infertility treatment, I have huge medical expenses and I am planning to do the itemized deductions for the same. Since I am pretty new to this stuff, can someone who has already done this tell me what all documents would I need and how will the process differ from a standard deduction? I have all the invoices and payment receipts for the different doctor vistis, and medications. I am also paying my insurance premium from my take home pay (my employee does not contribute), so I am also planning to claim it. So what documents would I need for it? Will I be sending these documents when I file my tax?

Thanks in advance!

2. jillcastle

jillcastle Gold IL'ite

3. sokanasanah

sokanasanah IL Hall of Fame

Duplicate.

Last edited: Jan 4, 2017
    jillcastle likes this.
  4. sokanasanah

sokanasanah IL Hall of Fame

You might try an automated tax filing system like TaxACT online (there are others). It will let you prepare your taxes and walk you through the process step by step. You will only be charged ($30 or so) if you decide to actually file your taxes from it. Until that point it's free. That might give you some idea. Since you still have 3 months to file, this may be a good experiment.
    Good Luck! Enjoy adult-ing!:lol:

5. jillcastle

jillcastle Gold IL'ite

Thank you for the reply. I checked the link, seems useful. I have an OCD about budget and expenses. I will be driving my DH crazy. Will pass on the wishes to my DH, he needs it more. :D

6. MalStrom

MalStrom IL Hall of Fame

I always use Turbotax to file online.