1. Have an Interesting Snippet to Share : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

chatting on the net gave me a new life

Discussion in 'Snippets of Life (Non-Fiction)' started by Deaf woman, May 29, 2009.

1. Deaf woman

Deaf woman Senior IL'ite

Dear ILites,
    This is my first blog here.Fate dealt me a big blow 2 decades back by making me deaf one fine morning.I won't bore you with the details of how and why i became one.It changed my perception of people and their behaviour towards me.So i shunned people and I was afraid to meet anyone outside my family.This state of affairs continued for half of a decade.Then a chance reading of an advt in The hindu about rediff chat ,brought me to the rediff site .I was a novice about chat and its perils or benefits whatever you wish to call it.But when i entered a chat room and can read others talk there just made me feel like a normal hearing person.I got hooked to it and started chatting there.The downside of it is people took me a for a loose woman and started misbehaving which depressed me no end too.Fortunately for me there are some guys and girls who are decent and they have become my friends .Chatting for one hr on the net daily became the highlight of my day.It gave a real boost to my confidence with people treating me like one of them and my fear of people lessened somewhat.After i turned deaf I fumbled to get the rightwords out too in real life .But this chatting experience made me feel better and i started talking normally .Hope i haven't bored you with my blog.

2. radhavenkatesh

radhavenkatesh Silver IL'ite

hi dear dw
    i totally am with you i also am one of your chat friend from rediff and honestly till you have expressed about your deafness in indus site i never knew of it
    we have been chatting for years now earlier in rediff then in yahoo but i am really amazed that you have managed it very well that a person like me who has chatted hours together with you couldnt get a wink of it
    hats off to you