1. U.S. Elementary Education : What Parents Need to Know
    Dismiss Notice

Charlotte Activities?

Discussion in 'Indians in Charlotte' started by sangithajk, Jul 24, 2012.

1. sangithajk

sangithajk New IL'ite

Hey all,

I am new to IL and I am happy to be here.. I came to US 2 months back with a lot of expectation.. I am married(no kids).. Was juz wondering how to kill the time i have apart from cooking, crafting, job hunt and watching movies..i feel frustrated being indoor..is there any part time courses in any colleges which u wud know? have anyone tried that? or any other suggestions to kill my time.?

2. priya20coool

priya20coool Bronze IL'ite

Hi.. welcome to Charlotte.. Charlotte is quite a small town with not much of busy activities.. As you have just come to US, you would have imagined this city to be like New York or Washington DC.. I had the same notion which is a big mistake.. BTW.. where are you staying in Charlotte?? I live at the Traditions apartment at Mallard Creek.. Will see if we can meet up and have fun.. I have a 2 year old son who is very active.. I am also trying for the past 10 months to kill time.. And the colleges are more near downtown or near the border of South Carolina which is just 50 approx. 50 miles from my place.. This is summer.. So you can try some swimming classes.. Ask your apartment neighbors whether someone comes to your apartment to teach.. For courses, there are quite a few in community colleges and the technical institute.. Check online..

But my advice is, learn driving as quickly as possible.. Its easy because you are alone now... Once you learn driving, you can alteast drop your husband at office and take the car to go out somewhere.. Guess you would be having a GPS if you have a car.. Passing the driving test is easy.. First take a written test.. Then with that LLR, you can learn from your husband..