Career Advice

Discussion in 'Working Women' started by sanjuruby3, Aug 26, 2016.

1. sanjuruby3

sanjuruby3 Platinum IL'ite

Hi all

I am tagging @viki123 @Sandhya13 as we have discussed a few times.

So I am into job hunting again and looking for FT position. Since I could not find job near by, I started looking little further thinking WFH few days or move bit closer. I did not apply or was not interested in contracting or contract to hire openings unless they are near to my place. Now, I applied to a FT job in a company which is a startup company, part of univ., far from my place.

Initially, I was skeptical. Distance, Start up company, No sustainability of their own, still funded and above all Technologies used are completely different.
    So I have specialized skill (which they needed badly and it is not common to find resources in that) and front end skills they needed (I am not an expert there). Based on that, they said yes.

Interview went well and they suggesting contract to hire position.They liked me very much but there is skill set gap so tryout period.

(Even though they are hiring me for that other specialized skill and I would not have to do deal with front end work for a year or so. Hunh...)

I did not want to drive that far to work on technologies I never liked.
    I did not want to work on that uncommon skill at all (it is not sell able skillset) and not interested in front end work too.
    My base skill set was Back end development which faded in recent job and wanted to go back to that, as an ideal job.
    But I applied thinking, I thought I have to try everywhere.
    So benefits are great. Its non profit start up so life may not be that hard as with other companies. And I was tired of corporate world. Non- profit idea was good.
    On site -->