Boiled Frogs

Discussion in 'News & Politics' started by rasikapriyan, Sep 18, 2013.

1. rasikapriyan

rasikapriyan Bronze IL'ite

Boiled Frogs
    Ever heard of the boiled frog syndrome?

The boiling frog story is a widespread anecdote told in a metaphorical context and goes like this.

If you put a frog in a pot of boiling water, it instinctively jumps out to safety. However,if you put a frog in a pot of water and slowly keep raising the temperature of the water, the frog keeps getting acclimatized and fails to recognize when the temperature has crossed the threshold of safety and perishes.
    Are we in India, in danger of becoming boiled frogs?
    Has the water temperature crossed the threshold of safety, and we are not even aware of the danger?
    Are we no longer horrified at the lakhs of crores of rupees involved in the unrelenting slew of scams that get exposed one after another?
    Have we become immune to news reports about the brutal rape of women, sometimes even small children?
    Have we given up on money stashed away by Indian citizens in Swiss banks?
    Have we become so acclimatized to the corruption, the crime and lack of good governance that we have stopped caring, stopped demanding from politicians the clean and accountable governance that is our fundamental right?

We cannot resign ourselves to a hopeless collective fate. We need to throw off the heavy chains of inertia, add our voice to the growing clamour for change, join hands with the growing numbers that are participating in uprooting a rotten system and putting in place true “Swarajya” and “Surajya”- Self rule and good governance.

The water temperature has indeed crossed the threshold of safety and we need to make sure that the alarm bells are ringing loudly.

Let’s make sure everyone in India can hear them far and wide.

It’s now up to us, whether we jump out to safety, or become the frogs that perished in the boiling water.

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! PARTICIPATE IN THE CHANGE

Onesweetlife likes this.