1. Handy Kitchen Tips that You cannot Miss : Solutions for all your Problems

"Best out of waste",support my thread

Discussion in 'Home Decoration & Improvement' started by sankasailaja, Feb 17, 2007.

did u like my thread

1. yes

131 vote(s)
    99.2%
  2. no

1 vote(s)
    0.8%
  1. honeybee

honeybee Gold IL'ite

Hi All
    Nice thread with very useful tips..:wave

A small & simple tip from me..

You can use the thoroughly cleaned empty dish washing liquid containers (small,medium sized) to store oil in the pooja shelf. This helps in preventing oil from spilling when you add it to lamps and you can also add oil in small quantities (ie.drop by drop) :)

Honeybee

sindmani and Radhica like this.
  2. slgayatri

slgayatri Bronze IL'ite

Hi all Ilites
    And especially sankasailaja :goodidea:
    This is a great idea to use the waste things as very useful ones.
    Every one have so many ideas of oding this.
    Even I'll do aome kind of these things at my home.
    I'll use the chocolate boxes, ice cream boxes for keeping hair bands, pins, etc.
    Anyway, this thread will help a lot for us.
    Keep ideas coming.

Gayathri.

3. BhargaviChakravarthy

BhargaviChakravarthy Bronze IL'ite

good thread
    As kamala said even i use left over plastic bags for dustbins.
    When you happen to buy readymade curd in a plastic box,you can use the same for keeping flowers and keep it in refrigerator.
    As slgayatri said even i use the chocalate and icecream boxes for keeping cosmetics.
    I shall come with some more ideas in the future.

4. krishnaamma

krishnaamma Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Hi to all,

Here I want to give some tips.

• Old News papers – Cut them into 4 and keep them in kitchen shelf. Will be very useful like Hand towels.
    • Old mayonnaise or table serving honey bottles can be used (after cleaning) as oil cans in kitchen.
    • Pepsi or Coke big bottles like 2.5lt. Bottles - Cut three inch from the bottom and keep the bottom near your sink. Pour washing liquid and water in the cup with a sponge.
    • Use the top to transfer any liquid. Use it as a ‘funnel’
    • Now a days we are getting shirts in good boxes. Place the top side and bottom side one into another and keep in your dressing shelf to keep hair bands, clips etc.,
    • You can use pattu sari boxes also like this.
    • Use small yogurt boxes, sweet boxes to keep left overs in the fridge.
    • Used toothbrushes, can be used to clean our combs.
    • Make ‘Aprins’ out of old cotton sarees.
    • You can make letter holders too. After making ‘aprons’ and letter holders you can do embroidery in that.
    • You can make delicious thuvial by using <?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:smarttags" /><st1:place>Orange</st1:place> fruit’s peeled skin.
    • Like all of you I will also use plastic covers to cover my dustbin and collect the veg. wastage.

5. vijiputhucode

vijiputhucode Silver IL'ite

it is a very useful thread. i think it will have additions daily..........
    here is one
    dont throw away the binding wire which binds the bread packets usually u can see it in modern bread packets et c. collect and keep it. u can close any left over packets of rava, maida etc. with it and keep it in fridge. also u can use it for binding anything instead of rubber bands and threads. it comes handy many a times. during navarathri golu times, for decoration purpose, i use it to tie bunch of flowers etc for roof decoration for golu. if a wire of any plug point is too lengthy u can fold and tie with it etc.......
    bye shall continue later

6. gitu

gitu New IL'ite

hai sailaja

your idea seems to be very good:2thumbsup: . do keep posting us with all new ideas of converting waste into a best one.

take care
    bye:wave

7. sunitak

sunitak Junior IL'ite

Nowadays we get sauce/ketchup in squeeze ty pe bottles .Once its empty we can wash them well and store oil adn this can be used especially while making dosas - the oil usage will be definitely less than what will when we use a spoon.

old duppattas,saris can be used to make door mats.Take three diferent duppattas /saris and plat them - the way we plat our hair - " pinnarthu" and keep doing this till it becomes substantially long enough and then place them in clockwise / circular directions and in between just stitch to keep them in place .

take care
    sunita
    :wave

8. mom23kidz

mom23kidz New IL'ite

Very interesting thread, here are some of the ways I recycle waste:
    1. I actively recycle cardboard boxes, junk mail, newspapers,#1 and#2 plastic containers and all cans through my city's monthly recycle program. This is a very easy way to do your part in renewing resources.
    2. Grind up veggie/fruit peels in the garbage disposal under the sink.
    3. Most papers we use at home/my husband brings from work are used on one side while the other side is blank. My kids use such papers to color and draw and then we put them in the recycle bin.
    4. I use old kitchen towels as dust rags to clean around the house.
    5. I limit my driving to only necessary errands and combine shopping trips to conserve gas.
    6. Check out www.carbonfootprint.com to estimate your carbon footprint and learn more ways of conserving precious resources.

Fatima

9. SubhaD

SubhaD New IL'ite

A good thread!
    Here's what I do at home.
    1. Cut papers which are blank on one side into rectangles about
    10cmsx7cms. Take a few of these and staple them in one corner
    to make a small booklet. Make a hole in that corner, pass a string
    through it and tie it to any nail or window in the kitchen. This is
    very useful for jotting down various kitchen activities like - book
    gas, groceries list, call plumber, etc.
    2. Cut thin cardboard from sweet boxes, etc. into thin strips. Keep these
    in a box . These can be used to light the 2nd burner, when the first is
    burning - the gas lighter will last longer.
    3. I usually wash greens[keerai] in a small bucket of water, twice. I use this
    water and other water which I use to wash rice, etc. for the plants.
    4. Have stitched 3 old dupattas together, then used strips of another as piping
    - this is used to cover our computer system- very colourful!
    Good, useful ideas in this thread. Keep them coming!
    SubhaD

10. chitrajan

chitrajan Bronze IL'ite

Dear Sailaja,

This is a very useful thread which you have started.

I have a suggestion to everyone. Please do not use USED BRUSHES to clean combs-vessels-especially puja items for hygeine purposes.

Buy cheaper brushes and keep one individually for the purpose and remember to clean them as soon as you use them.

Last month there was an article in Aval VIkatan giving many uses for tooth brushes. I attach a copy for your reference.

• tips.pdf
      File size:
      607.7 KB
      Views:
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2007