1. Looking for an Interesting Craft Project? : Plethora of Ideas
    Dismiss Notice

Back Darts For Kurti

Discussion in 'Sewing & Stitching' started by wish4miracle, Aug 1, 2017.

1. wish4miracle

wish4miracle Silver IL'ite

Hi ladies,
    i am a beginner in sewing. i am trying to stitch a simple kurti, have taken measurements from a stitched kurti. i have considered exact measurements with extra only for seam allowance and adjustments. i have cut the fabric as per my measurements.

now i want to try back darts in the kurti. For one to stitch back dart, do we need to consider it before cutting the fabric as it might require extra measurements? i assume back dart is to give a refine shape at the waist, if so can i just add dart only to back side? will it look too tight at the back? (like pulling at the back and the front will have extra fabric as we dint do any dart there, shifting side lines to back)

any inputs would help. thanks.

2. Nonya

Nonya Platinum IL'ite

you can add those even to hand-me-down garments that are previously worn by someone larger than you.
    I would advice you to get some dart patterns and see if you can use them. Many of the "very fitted" tops (blouses, kurthis) you see on movie stars have curvy darts as well. Try simple ones first, before you go to curves.

Use google to learn about the technique.

wish4miracle likes this.
  3. Mmaaee

Mmaaee New IL'ite

Hi...
    In reply to your "For one to stitch back dart, do we need to consider it before cutting the fabric as it might require extra measurements"...