1. Want to be a Positive Parent? : Click Here
    Dismiss Notice

approach to pre-school/ KG in US

Discussion in 'Schoolgoers & Teens' started by AmulyaB, Feb 2, 2012.

1. AmulyaB

AmulyaB New IL'ite

Hello all,
    I'm new to IL. Hope to get good info & friends here.

I've a 3yr old daughter. we shifted from India to US 6 months ago (when she was 2.5 yrs old).
    I was working in India & hence my daughter went to play school from 1.5 yr-2.5yrs.
    Had we been in India now, my daughter wud be going to Nursery now.

After taking some time to settle & my kid to get adjust to the new place, I now like to join my DD to a pre-school/nursery program. I guess the public schools here accepts kids for kinder-garten at age 5 (at this).
    age kids in India pursue/complete 1st standard). we plan to return to india in 2-3yrs (my kid might be 5-6 yrs by then)

Can anyone pls suggest me as how do I approach to start my kid's schooling now so that she dont fall behind (when compared to Indian kids) when we return to india?
    I mean, how can she start to go to KG before 5 yrs in US? Is this possible?
    Infact she is very smart & active, a quick learner too. hence i dont want her to fall behind (in terms of grade/class) when we r back to india.

can i start sending her to pre-school now in US?

2. sravanitenali

sravanitenali IL Hall of Fame

Hi Amulya..

You can join your DS in near by private schools, they will have lots of toddler/Pre-k programmes. If you are Staying home mom, then you can opt for 3 or 5hrs day school option.

Takecare
    Sravani

3. Srama

Srama Finest Post Winner

Amulya,

check with your school district. Most information about KG will be available there.
    1. 5yr old criteria will slightly vary from state to state. For ex., in our state a child must be 5yrs or older before the 30th of sept and if a child is born before the end of Dec, in certain cases testing will be done for KG readiness to consider for KG. Find info about.