इस प्यार को मैं क्या नाम दूं? Is pyaar ko main kya naam doon?

Discussion in 'Stories (Fiction)' started by Padmasrinivas, Feb 12, 2009.

1. Padmasrinivas

Padmasrinivas Silver IL'ite

इस प्यार को मैं क्या नाम दूं?
    IS PYAAR KO MAIN KYA NAAM DOON?

Ramaa was a pretty young bride of 21 when she got married to Ananthakrishnan, 26, in the early sixties. Ananth was the eldest son of the family, and as was the wont in those days, he had to shoulder the responsibility of looking after his parents and siblings. Life in a joint family was a new experience for Ramaa, since her family had moved to Delhi when she was barely 3.

Ramaa was quite happy to follow the dictates of her in-laws’. She helped her mother-in-law with the endless chores around the house, put up with her father-in-law’s mood swings, endeared herself to Sita, her young sister-in-law (Naathanar), and helped her brother-in-law Sundar with his home-work. No marriage is complete without tiffs and domestic squabbles between spouses. Ananth and Ramaa had their fair share of fights too, Ramaa did not give in easily when she knew she was right. This only helped them to respect each other’s rights and opinions. Of course Ananth loved her in his own undemonstrative way and appreciated all that she did for his family. Can’t blame Ananth, really, since he was busy trying to further his career in corporate finance and the young couple did not get to spend much time alone. But he never forgot to bring jasmine flowers (Jadi Malli or Mullai) for Ramaa every evening. Dame Fortune made sure that they could spend their first wedding anniversary together, as Ananth’s company had organised an ‘off-site’ with spouses in Udaipur.

Soon Sita got married, her in-laws were quite demanding, all the traditions had to be followed for the festivals during the first year (Thalai pandigaikal). Life became even more hectic after Ranjani and Siddharth were born. Ramaa really had her hands full, the cheerful way in which she went about the tasks even won the approval of her cantankerous FIL! The eternal pragmatist, Ananth discovered that he admired Ramaa’s calm temperament and unruffled manner. There were times when he surprised himself by giving her a warm hug! His rigid opinions were slowly changing, his laughter rang out more often, he no longer felt self-conscious when he kissed the children, he became a caring father, always making time for them amidst his busy schedule.

The years rolled by, Siddharth had done well in school and chose to study Law. Ranjani had blossomed into a real beauty – “Of course, she’s gorgeous, after all I married a real stunner, what do you expect?” from Ananth, Ramaa blushing with pleasure tinged with embarrassment! “Well, well, what a transformation, where is the Ananth-anna of those days? Manni, what is this magic spell!” – this from Sita.

The pace of life was more leisurely now, Sundar had settled down to marital bliss in the US of A, FIL and MIL took their yearly trips to visit Sita and Sundar. Then someone suggested a brilliant ‘alliance’ for Ranjani, he came for the ‘bride-viewing’, was promptly swept off his feet, and from that moment, it was like a ‘snowball-effect’ - the ‘Mapillai Azhaippu (Baraat), Nischayathartham (Engagement), Muhurtham, Reception… Ananth and Ramaa were in a daze, their ‘little darling’ was married and leaving to set up her own home in London. It was a tearful parting, all the more poignant because Siddharth was also on his way to Stanford.

Oh! the house seemed so empty, only the echoes of the childrens’ laughter and the mild disagreements to keep them company. But Destiny weaves Her Web in strange and unfathomable ways. Ramaa and Ananth were drawn closer together by their love for music and leaning towards spiritual discourses. Travel was another passion they shared, finally they could enjoy these pleasures. Just being together, reading a book or taking a walk, took on a new meaning.

Ramaa and Ananth have traversed the entire gamut of ‘Love’ in its diverse forms and meanings. At this point in their life, what they share is something beyond words.

इस प्यार को मैं क्या नाम दूं?
    IS PYAAR KO MAIN KYA NAAM DOON?

Happy Valentine’s day to all ILites!

Padma Srinivas

2. Lalitha Shivaguru

Lalitha Shivaguru Platinum IL'ite

Dear Mami,

Happy Valentine's day to you too !

Beautiful narration.. I could be with Ramaa... What a lovely pair they make.

The evening love is the one which is more fragrant...because of the understanding, the admiration and the respect both has for one another. This has been brought out very well mami...

I only pray all couples enjoy this kind of bliss always.

3. Padmasrinivas

Dear Lalli,

Thank you for being the first one to post fb and for adding such a lovely interpretation to the love and closeness shared by couples in the later part of life.

LnBBHs,
    Padma

4. aishu22

aishu22 Gold IL'ite

Dearest Padma,

Lovely,cute story. Marriage is a bliss only when shared,understood and adjusted and still enjoyed!

Happy Valentines Day to you and yours.
    Ln BBHs to you.

5. Padmasrinivas

Dear Aishu,

Wonderful to receive a fb from you.

True, as you have said, marriage means a lot of adjustments and compromises, initially it may be difficult and frustrating. But with time, as the couple reach a level of understanding, this give and take attitude makes married life more enjoyable.

Thank you, Aishu dear for dropping in here,

happy Valentine's Day!

LnBBHs,
    Padma

6. malspie

malspie Platinum IL'ite

Hi Padma,

Wow! You have turned in to a story writer, you are doing a great job and will make the ace writers wear 2 or 3 thinking caps.

Koi Naam Mat dena, pyaar sirf pyaar hota hain, duniya usse kissi bhi naam se pukare, usko koi matlab nahin.

7. Padmasrinivas

Dear Soul sister,

You made my Valentine's Day with your sweet fb, I love it!

Haan, mera bhi yehi soch tha, pyaar to pyaar hi hota hai, maa-bachche ke beech, dada-dadi-nana-nani aur pote key beech, pati-patni key beech,
    har ek ka ek alag saa 'flavour' hota hai.

Thank you so much Sweetie pie Mals for being here,

LnBBHs,
    Padma

8. mithila kannan

mithila kannan Gold IL'ite

My dear Padma,
    What they share now that the birds have flown out of the nest is companionable silence,peace of mind,if they share a common hobby it is great or they can support each other in their pursuits.Life is blissful.
    But how many couples enjoy this,there are couples who enjoy a good fight over trivial issues but don't you feel sad for them dear,that is the way they enjoy their old age.The love and affection is intact but temperamentally they don't vibe well.

I feel happy for Ananth and Ramaa.
    lovely post.
    mithila kannan

9. Padmasrinivas

Dear Mithila,

Yes, you have put the feelings shared by a couple in the latter part of their life in a very nice concise way.

There are some who express their affection for each other in silly squabbles and pointless issues. That is their nature, the day is not complete if they don't cross harmless swords with each other. I too have seen such couples but they show their concern by asking 'Did Appa eat?' or 'why hasn't Amma come back yet?"...

Mithila dear, thank you so much for stopping to read my story and post a fb.

LnBBHs,
    Padma

10. iyerviji

Dear Padma

Good story. Marriage is filled with sweet melodies of ever growing love, everlasting compatibility and a lifetime of togetherness. In old age only the couple need each other and that is the time they should be there for each other. Me and my dh are enjoyingthat kind of life now.

As Malspie said pyar sirf pyar hotha hai which cant be expressed in words has to be experienced. A good story on Valentine's day which shows not only the youngsters but couple in old age also can enjoy life.