Relationships Forum Chatter & Grey Matter

Discussion in 'Married Life' started by Rihana, Jun 22, 2016.

1. yellowmango

My daughter recently told me ," stop trying to manipulate me to get me to do what you want".:eek:
    I guess we both pass.
    Shanvy....A+
    YM.....B+

sindmani, cheenu123, Rihana and 2 others like this.
  2. Shanvy

Hope so. And hope our son-in-laws don’t start threads here.. Aajkal seeing dd and her confidence level I won’t negate the possibility

3. SGBV

SGBV IL Hall of Fame

The definition of good children need to be re validated here.
    Who is actually the good child?
    a) The one who obeys whatever his/her parents say.
    b) The one who uses his own brain, while trying to be fair to everyone concerned.

The good child may be considered as the worst spouse after marriage.
    The good human being may be considered as the worst child by his/her dominant parents.
    This is a tricky equation, and it is impossible to please everyone at the same time.

I would teach my kids to be fair, and understanding even if the other party is unfair. They can show empathy without giving up their own self too much into the problem.
    Overall, they have to behave like an adult when they are adults, and so it is important to make judgement using their own brains.
    They are free to disagree with their parents or any elders for that matter, but they just have to be respectful, and empathetic while disagreeing. So that, these elders do not feel hurt and distanced from their children.

4. Iravati

Iravati Platinum IL'ite

Ditto. @Ragini25 , drop a note. Hope you are OK.

5. MonikaSG

MonikaSG Platinum IL'ite

Invisible yet present. Got the power of Mr India.

Sandycandy likes this.
  6. Sandycandy

Sandycandy IL Hall of Fame

Kaun ? Mr. India of IL ? Please share your red glasses. Zara main bhi toh dekh lu :lol:

MonikaSG likes this.
  7. justanothergirl

justanothergirl IL Hall of Fame

No one is blaming the DIL . Blaming a child exclusively "the son needs to grow a spine and should have spent some time with the parents /girls do it all the time etc" isn't justified was the point I was trying to make. Once a child is married much has to do with the willingness of the spouse when it comes to things like hosting.

Rihana likes this.
  8. Rihana

We will have to agree that we think differently. Sandycandy and I think that it is a child's responsibility to welcome, visit or host parents to at least a certain extent, no matter what the spouse's attitude. Barely meeting them is wrong. In this case, he could very well have come to the airport, visited them often during their stay. The ideal is indeed that they stay in his apartment too, and they all go for outings. But often ideal is not possible.

I blame the child exclusively in this case. Lack of support from spouse happens many times. It is not fair. But that does not condone such treatment of visiting parents.

Sandycandy likes this.
  9. Laks09

Laks09 Moderator Staff Member IL Hall of Fame

Raagini, Raagini, Raagini..........oh oh oh oh heeeey...... in Madhur's Mohini style!
    @Ragini25 kidar hai yaar? Pop in and say you are ok no? Adding the song for impact :)

10. Iravati

Iravati Platinum IL'ite

Kidar hai yaar? Ek (Rihana), Do (Iravati), Teen (Laks) are trying to locate you.

Gumshuda Gumshuda
    Koi Hua Kahan Hua
    Dhoondha Sara Jahan Na Jaane Woh Hai Kahan
    Gumshuda Gumshuda Gumshuda Gumshuda

Anisu and Laks09 like this.